Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Forecast

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Forecast

The Consequences of Climate Change, from the Amazon to the Arctic, from Darfur to Napa Valley

by Stephan Faris

Forecast by Stephan Faris X
Forecast by Stephan Faris
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2008, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beth Hemke Shapiro

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Hammerfest & The Snow White Project
Global warming usually suggests images of wild tempests and massive floods, but some countries are trying to tap into what they see as potential benefits of climate change. One of the numerous fascinating places that Stephan Faris visited to collect material for Forecast is Hammerfest in northern Norway.  Billing itself as the northernmost city in the world, this small Arctic city has witnessed a recent explosion of growth and tourism thanks to melting ice and the resulting increase of maritime accessibility.


Although the sun vanishes each December and January, about 200,000 tourists flock to Hammerfest annually, including the passengers from about 40 visiting cruise ships who visit during the summer months.

It isn't just tourists who are starting to visit the port of Hammerfest but also those involved in the energy business. Some estimates hold that as much as one-fourth of the earth's oil and natural gas reserves* lie untapped in the Arctic. Eighty-seven miles off the shores of Hammerfest in the Berents Sea, the "Snow White" project is working to exploit a natural gas field, which will be piped to a small island close to Hammerfest, liquefied, and then transported to its final destination by sea. This access to previously untouched resources is a boon for Norway, as well as for other western European countries, with its potential to reduce European dependency on Russian gas.

Liquefied natural gas currently accounts for 25% of the global natural gas trade, and some analysts believe that the market will increase by 8% a year until 2025. A number of countries are investing in liquefying technology including the State of Qatar, Algeria, Indonesia, and Malaysia.

Interesting Link
An article in the New York Times in which Faris writes about Greenland's plan to ride global warming to independence.

1st photo shows the town of Hammerfest; the second shows the gas liquification facility on the Norwegian island of Melkøya.

This article was originally published in January 2009, and has been updated for the September 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.