Doppelgangers: Background information when reading The Likeness

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Likeness

A Novel

by Tana French

The Likeness by Tana French X
The Likeness by Tana French
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2008, 480 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2009, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Patty Magyar
Buy This Book

About this Book

Doppelgangers

This article relates to The Likeness

Print Review

When Cassie sees a woman lying stabbed to death who looks exactly like her, with an ID that matches the identity she used for years as an undercover detective, it seems clear that she is looking at her own doppelganger.

  • The dictionary describes a doppelganger (or doubleganger, from the German for 'doublegoer' or lookalike) as a ghostly double or counterpart of a living person. In the vernacular the term has come to be used more loosely to describe any sort of double.
  • The doppelgangers of folklore are said to have no shadows or reflection (similar in some ways to vampires). They are inevitably bad news, being either malicious or a bad omen, often heralding death or a serious illness.
  • Doppelgangers appear quite frequently in fiction. R. L. Stevenson's Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Oscar Wilde's Picture of Dorian Grey being notable examples.
  • Famous accounts of doppelgangers include Guy de Maupassant's short story "The Horla", which apparently tells of his own experience with a doppelganger. Prolific short story writer, Maupassant, considered by some the greatest French short story writer and often compared to Edgar Allan Poe, contracted syphilis in his 20s and died at the age of 43 having been committed to an asylum the year before.
  • Izaak Walton, author of The Compleat Angler and contemporary of the poet John Donne, claims Donne met his wife's doppelganger shortly before his daughter was stillborn. Poet Percy Bysshe Shelley is said to have seen his doppelganger in a dream shortly before his death; and there are various reports that Lincoln saw his in a mirror shortly before his death.
  • Freud considered the doppelganger a figure that embodied the return of a repressed soul, a soul who has released what should always have been hidden.
  • Scientists at the University Hospital in Geneva, Switzerland have discovered that the treatment of epilepsy through the electrical stimulation of the brain can produce the sensation of a doppelganger's presence in the patient.

Filed under Cultural Curiosities

Article by Patty Magyar

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Likeness. It originally ran in September 2008 and has been updated for the May 2009 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Where Coyotes Howl
    Where Coyotes Howl
    by Sandra Dallas
    Where Coyotes Howl may appear to be a classically conventional historical novel — a wide-eyed ...
  • Book Jacket: After the Miracle
    After the Miracle
    by Max Wallace
    Many people have heard one particular story about Helen Keller—how the saintly teacher, Annie ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.