Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

A Novel

by David Wroblewski

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski X
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2008, 576 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2009, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Dog Training Methods & The Seeing Eye
Edgar Sawtelle would not have much to say—or sign—to the Dog Whisperer. Cesar Millan, the star of "The Dog Whisperer" on the National Geographic Channel, is known for his "pack-oriented" philosophy, which traces canine behavior back to their survival instinct for living in highly organized packs led by a single, strong leader. As Millan's website states, "[I]n order to properly fulfill both our dogs and ourselves, we each need to become our canine's calm-assertive pack leader." And so Millan teaches dog owners to exert dominance over their dogs—a practice found in many dog behavior books. His work has drawn criticism from other trainers who believe that countering canine aggression with human aggression is a dangerous tactic.

By contrast, the Sawtelles view their dogs as equals. In one achingly beautiful scene, Edgar's mother Trudy teaches Edgar how to train his dog Finch. She asks Edgar to command Finch to jump a short barrier. Edgar stands on the other side of the barrier and signals a recall. When Finch walks around the barrier to Edgar, Trudy scolds her son, not the dog. Edgar did not properly communicate to Finch what he wanted. Trudy points out that in this exchange, Finch was the teacher, because he taught Edgar what his own words meant. Training in the Sawtelle barn happens via positive reinforcement for successful obedience, leash corrections for slight mistakes, and an enormous amount of patience and mutual respect.

In the novel, Edgar's father corresponds with a researcher at Fortunate Fields, a kennel in Sweden, about the feasibility of crossing dogs of unknown provenance in order to capture their genes for intelligence. Fortunate Fields was an actual place, the brainchild of USA-born Dorothy Leib Harrison Wood Eustis. Eustis bred German shepherds for intelligence and loyalty and put them to work with the Swiss Army. In 1927, Eustis learned of a German school that trained dogs as guides for blind veterans. She wrote an article about the school for the Saturday Evening Post, and the article prompted an inquiry from an American blind man named Morris Frank. He traveled to Fortunate Fields and came home with a German Shepherd named Buddy. The pair received so much publicity in the United States that in 1929, Eustis returned to Tennessee to open the nation's first training school for guide dogs. The organization, called The Seeing Eye, still exists today, breeding and training shepherds, labs, and retrievers to work with people with disabilities.

In the Saturday Evening Post, Eustis describes how a Seeing Eye dog guides and responds to his owner, what might be seen as the most perfect instance of human-canine interaction:

"He must go at a fast walk so that the slackening in his gait for an obstacle is instantly felt through the rigid handle of his harness. For curbs he pulls back and stands still so that his master can find the edge with his cane; for steps, approaching traffic and all obstacles barring progress, he sits down; and for trees, letter boxes, scaffoldings, pedestrians, he leans away from his man, who follows the pull and so is led safely around. He learns the direction commands of right, left and forward, and to pick up anything his master drops. He is taught to protect his master from violence and this instinct develops in bounds after he finally wins through to his own blind master. He must be ever watchful and protective, but never aggressive, and it is that quality of perfect balance in instruction that is the success at Potsdam."

Incidentally, Hill's Pet Nutrition also has its roots in Buddy and Morris Frank's story: Back in 1939 Morris Frank asked Dr. Mark Morris, Sr., a strong believer in using carefully formulated nutrition to manage diseases in pets, whether he could do anything to save Buddy, then about 12 years old and suffering from kidney failure. In his kitchen, Dr. Morris devised the first Hill's Prescription Diet product, founding the company shortly thereafter. As for Buddy, apparently he survived and thrived.

Photos: Dorothy Leib Harrison Wood Eustis & Morris Frank with Buddy.

This article was originally published in June 2008, and has been updated for the October 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.