Sindoor and Arranged Marriages: Background information when reading Unaccustomed Earth

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Unaccustomed Earth

by Jhumpa Lahiri

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri X
Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2008, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2009, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading
Buy This Book

About this Book

Sindoor and Arranged Marriages

This article relates to Unaccustomed Earth

Print Review

With supreme and economical skill, Jhumpa Lahiri uses only a few cultural signifiers to situate her characters in space and time. Almost all of the mothers in her stories, the women from the older generation who emigrate from India to the United States with their husbands, wear vermilion powder in their hair. Called sindoor, this powder is applied to the part of a Hindu bride's hair by her husband during their wedding ceremony, and is thereafter worn to signify her married status. Widows typically do not wear sindoor.

In this way, the meaning of sindoor is much simpler than that of the bindi, the bright red dot that many Indian women wear on their foreheads. The bindi can be worn by women regardless of age and marital status, and thus functions more like a decoration, albeit one with spiritual meaning as the bindi is placed over the sixth chakra, or energy point - between and just above the eyes, often referred to as the 'third eye'.

Pick which explanation for sindoor's source that you prefer: the Bollywood tale that it originated from the common practice of bride kidnapping, in which a groom would fight off the would-be abductor and, if successful, smear his blood in the bride's hair; the mythological explanation that red is the color of power and vermilion is the symbol of female energy, as manifested by the goddesses Parvati and Sati; or the physiological explanation that the mercury in the powder stimulates a woman's sexual energy.


Modern-Day Arranged Marriages

In Unaccustomed Earth, the women who wear sindoor do so in honor of their arranged marriages, in which parents choose the spouse and negotiate the terms of the union. Arranged marriages are very much alive and well in India and expatriate Indian communities around the world.

The modern variation tends to be more open and flexible than a traditional arrangement, where the future couple would meet just once or twice in the company of their parents. A modern arranged marriage might start on the internet, where parents post and respond to ads about their children, then progress over a series of unchaperoned dates, and culminate in the agreement of an auspicious wedding date (these days, a dowry is optional but not uncommon). In thisarticle, a sophisticated American-Indian woman in New York explains why dating the men her father has found for her on the internet beats participating in the brutal New York singles scene.

Filed under Places, Cultures & Identities

Article by Amy Reading

This "beyond the book article" relates to Unaccustomed Earth. It originally ran in May 2008 and has been updated for the April 2009 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Salvage This World
    Salvage This World
    by Michael Farris Smith
    In the near-future universe of Michael Farris Smith's Salvage This World, life-threatening ...
  • Book Jacket: Where Coyotes Howl
    Where Coyotes Howl
    by Sandra Dallas
    Where Coyotes Howl may appear to be a classically conventional historical novel — a wide-eyed ...
  • Book Jacket: After the Miracle
    After the Miracle
    by Max Wallace
    Many people have heard one particular story about Helen Keller—how the saintly teacher, Annie ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.