Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

by E Lockhart

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E Lockhart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2008, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2009, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Invisibility and the Panopticon
Adults have neither presence nor influence at Alabaster Prep. If they matter at all, it's only as offstage dispensers of wealth, tradition or status. Instead (like its Gothic counterpart Hogwarts), Alabaster's architecture and geography -- ponds, woods, golf courses, dorms, libraries, and most importantly, off-limits and secret places -- are powerful historical elements in the novel. Frankie, once an invisible freshman geek within the school's society, now an uncomfortably visible sophomore, returns to and exploits invisibility as she spies on her boyfriend and the school's secret society. As Frankie penetrates Alabaster's mysteries and exploits that knowledge in the execution of grandiose pranks, she invisibly controls and subverts the Alabaster community.

It makes sense, then, that the only class to engage Frankie's attention is "Cities, Art and Protest," in which she contemplates designed communities, subversive societies and pranks, and Jeremy Bentham's panopticon, a theoretical prison designed to provide a 360 degree view of its prisoners at all times:


Theory of Surveillance: The Panopticon
The Panopticon was proposed as a model prison by Jeremy Bentham (1748-1832), a Utilitarian philosopher and theorist of British legal reform.

The Panopticon ("all-seeing") functioned as a round-the-clock surveillance machine. Its design ensured that no prisoner could ever see the 'inspector' who conducted surveillance from the privileged central location within the radial configuration. The prisoner could never know when he was being surveilled.

Instead of traditional 'cellblock' designs, many modern prisons are built in a 'podular' design influenced by Bentham's Panopticon. Instead of rectangular buildings with tiers of cells and walkways, modern prisons are often constructed in triangular or trapezoidal-shapes with the cells laid out so that a single prison-officer sitting in an elevated central control station can see, and control, all cells within either a 270° or 180° field of view. An early example is the Presidio Modelo in Cuba, now a museum.

The concept of the panopticon has had a resurgence in modern day use, with some complaining that CCTV surveillance has become a panoptic structure; especially in the UK, which boasts 1% of the world's population but 20% of its CCTV cameras - over 4 million, 1 camera for every 14 people. As of 2006 and the introduction of the first 'talking' CCTV cameras, Big Brother is not only watching you he's shouting orders - the system allows control room operators who spot any anti-social acts, from dropping litter to late-night brawls, to send out a verbal warning!

Article by Jo Perry

This article was originally published in April 2008, and has been updated for the August 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.