Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Animal's People

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Animal's People

A Novel

by Indra Sinha

Animal's People by Indra Sinha X
Animal's People by Indra Sinha
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2008, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2009, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Animal's People

Print Review

Bhopal (map) is the capital of Madhya Pradesh in central India. The violent impact of the tremendous chemical leak described in Animal's People is based on the real life chemical leak in Bhopal in 1984, which is considered to be one of the world's worst industrial disasters.

On the morning of December 3, 1984 a holding tank of stored MIC (methyl isocyanate) at the Union Carbide plant in Bhopal, overheated and released over 40 tonnes of the noxious gas. The gas, which is heavier than air, spread throughout the city, poisoning thousands and infiltrating the water supply.

3,000 died within the first day of the leak and, according to the Bhopal Medical Appeal, around 500,000 people were exposed to the gas leaks. About 22,000 Bhopali's have died, and over 120,000 still experience serious effects from the disaster, such as breathing difficulties, cancer, blindness and gynecological problems.

Union Carbide (now part of the Dow Chemical Company) stresses that immediate action was taken to clean the area and compensate the victims for their loss, but many believe that the company has done next to nothing to respond to the massive damage they caused.

The International Medical Commission of Bhopal was established in 1993 to respond to the disaster. Almost 20 years later, in 2002, well water and groundwater tests in some areas showed mercury levels to be at "20,000 to 6 million times" higher than expected levels; with many other dangerous chemicals also present including trichloroethene, known to impair fetal development, at 50 times above the safety limits specified by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.


Indra Sinha was born in Bombay in 1950, the son of an Indian naval officer and an English author. He attended school in India and England and read English Literature at Cambridge. He worked as an advertising copywriter for many years, during which time  he was voted one of the top ten British copywriters of all time. He has been campaigning for the people of Bhopal since 1994 when he was approached by a man who wanted help to raise funds for a free medical clinic in Bhopal. With the help of the photograph of a child's burial by Raghu Rai, Sinha created an advertisement for the Bhopal Medical Appeal, kick-starting a movement that continues to serve thousands every year. Sinha now writes full time, is married with three grown children, and lives in Southern France.


Interesting Links:

  • Indra Sinha's website including photos of the statue of the fictional Animal.
  • The extraordinarily detailed website of the fictional city of Khaufpur, created by Sinha.
  • Union Carbide have a website defending their position on Bhopal, but the URL seems somewhat unreliable - you may or may not find it at http://www.bhopal.com
  • The International Campaign for Justice in Bhopal at Bhopal.net.
  • A comprehensive report by the BBC and video footage from December 1984.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Animal's People. It originally ran in April 2008 and has been updated for the March 2009 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.