MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Night Tourist

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Night Tourist

by Katherine Marsh

The Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh X
The Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to The Night Tourist

Print Review

Katherine Marsh, who grew up in New York but now lives in Washington where she is the managing editor of The New Republic magazine, takes readers on a gorgeous tour of New York City with a particular emphasis on Grand Central Station - from its well known ceiling to lesser known features such as the whispering gallery and the secret passages below the station.

Key to the story is a copy of Viele's map of Manhattan. Col. Egbert L. Viele (1825-1902) published his "Topographical Atlas of the City of New York" in 1874 which shows the city's natural springs, marshes and meadowlands - a map still used by engineers and architects today.

Colonel Viele (pronounced variously, VEE-el, VEE-lay or VEEL-ee) took part in the contest to design Central Park, but lost out to Frederick Law Olmsted and Calvert Vaux. However, he was the park's chief engineer and also developed plans for what would become the subway system; he also designed and built Prospect Park in Brooklyn. According to the Biographical Annals of the Civil Government of the United States, he was born in Saratoga County, New York and was educated at Albany Academy and West Point. he served in the Mexican War and in campaigns against the Indians in the Southwest until 1853 when he resigned and settled in New York City as a civil engineer. In 1861 he was appointed Brigadier-General of United States Volunteers and, after leading the advance which resulted in the surrender of Norfolk, he was briefly appointed military governor of Virginia.

"Clubber" Williams was a Police Captain, later Inspector, in late-19th century New York. Witnesses before an 1894 investigation into police corruption claimed the Clubber was receiving $30,000 a year in protection money from one brothel alone. When asked to explain his 17-room Connecticut mansion and 53-foot yacht, Williams claimed he had made his fortune through real estate speculation in Japan. Apparently, Williams was responsible for naming the once seedy Midtown Manhattan neighborhood between 23rd and 42nd Street as the Tenderloin (now known as Chelsea).

Filed under

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Night Tourist. It originally ran in November 2007 and has been updated for the September 2008 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Kindness of Strangers
    The Kindness of Strangers
    by Michael E. McCullough
    "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you." Everyone, at some point in their life, has ...
  • Book Jacket: Hamnet
    Hamnet
    by Maggie O'Farrell
    William Shakespeare's name is never used in Hamnet — a conspicuous absence around which Maggie...
  • Book Jacket: After the Last Border
    After the Last Border
    by Jessica Goudeau
    According to the United Nations Refugee Agency, the number of displaced people around the world is ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Alex Landragin
    Crossings is a beautiful, if slightly messy, time-bending debut. It reads like a vampire novel, sans...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Hieroglyphics
    by Jill McCorkle

    A mesmerizing novel about piecing together the hieroglyphics of history and memory.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

The the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose fight is boundless.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Every Bone a Prayer

Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

A beautifully honest exploration of healing and of hope.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Real M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.