Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Shock Doctrine

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Shock Doctrine

The Rise of Disaster Capitalism

by Naomi Klein

The Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein X
The Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 576 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2008, 576 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

  • Milton Friedman (1912-2006) was awarded the Nobel Prize in economics in 1976, greatly raising his international profile and paving the way for the adoption of his policies. The Nobel website publishes Friedman's autobiography and prize lecture. Friedman charmingly admits the incongruity of his receiving a prize established by the Central Bank of Sweden: "[M]y monetary studies have led me to the conclusion that central banks could profitably be replaced by computers geared to provide a steady rate of growth in the quantity of money. Fortunately for me personally, and for a select group of fellow economists, that conclusion has had no practical impact…else there would have been no Central Bank of Sweden to have established the award I am honored to receive."

    For an excellent summation of Friedman's career, read Paul Krugman's essay in the New York Review of Books, where he concludes that though "Friedman was wrong on some issues, and sometimes seemed less than honest with his readers, I regard him as a great economist and a great man."

  • In 2007, shortly after The Shock Doctrine was published in hardcover, Naomi Klein wrote an essay in The Guardian (considered the most left wing of the UK's mainstream newspapers) about the reception the book received in the conservative business press. She wryly notes the irony that publications like the Financial Times dismiss her work as an ideological rant when, in fact, she draws much of her research from the very pages of the Financial Times itself. For a wealth of resources about The Shock Doctrine, including some of the research behind her thesis and a short film about the book by Alfonso Cuarón, see Klein's own website.

Useful to know: Despite sharing the same last name and outlook on globalization, Thomas Friedman, author of The World is Flat, is not related to Milton Friedman.

This article was originally published in November 2007, and has been updated for the June 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.