Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Dangerous Book for Boys

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dangerous Book for Boys

by Conn Iggulden, Hal Iggulden

The Dangerous Book for Boys by Conn Iggulden, Hal Iggulden X
The Dangerous Book for Boys by Conn Iggulden, Hal Iggulden
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    May 2007, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Conn Iggulden was born in 1971. He read English at London University and then taught for seven years at a high school in London. His mother is Irish and from an early age told her children history as an exciting series of stories - with dates, and his great-grandfather was a Seannachie (Irish storyteller). His father flew in Bomber Command in WWII, then taught maths and science. Iggulden says, "Though it seems a dated idea now, I began teaching when boys were told only girls were good at English, despite the great names that must spring to mind after that statement. My father loved working with wood and equations, but he also recited Vitai Lampada* with a gleam in his eye and that matters, frankly."

*A poem by Henry Newbolt.

Conn cut his teeth on Hornblower and Tai-Pan, Flashman, Sharpe and Jack Aubrey, and still remembers the sheer joy of reading his first Patrick O’Brian book and discovering there were nineteen more in the series! He also loves anything by David Gemmell, or Peter F. Hamilton or Wilbur Smith. He lives with his wife and two children in Hertfordshire, England.

Hal Iggulden was born in 1972 and lives in Leicester, England; where he is a theatre director with a love of astronomy, gadgets, dogs and football.

Conn Iggulden's Bibliography

Emperor Series

  • The Gates of Rome (2003)
  • The Death of Kings (2004)
  • The Field of Swords (2004)
  • The Gods of War (2006)

Conqueror Series

  • Wolf of the Plains (2007)
    published as Gengis in the USA
  • 2nd in the series, title not announced, due to be published Jan 2008

Novellas

  • Blackwater (2006) - psychological thriller

Non fiction (with Hal Iggulden)

  • The Dangerous Book for Boys (UK: 2006, USA 2007)
  • The Dangerous Yearbook; Pocket Book etc
  • Dangerous Heroes - to be published 2008

This article is from the June 7, 2007 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.