Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Savage Garden

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Savage Garden

by Mark Mills

The Savage Garden by Mark Mills X
The Savage Garden by Mark Mills
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2007, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to The Savage Garden

Print Review

Mark Mills is a novelist and screenwriter whose credits include the screenplay for The Reckoning, which he adapted from Barry Unsworth's novel Morality Play. His first novel, Amagansett, set in the small Long Island town of the same name in 1947, was published in the USA in 2004. In some countries, including the UK, it is titled The Whaleboat House. Described by one reviewer as Snow Falling on Cedars meets The Shipping News, Amagansett won the Crime Writer's of America John Creasey Memorial Dagger award, awarded to previously unpublished writers.

A graduate of Cambridge University, Mills lived for several years in Tuscany, where he had a business renovating farmhouses. He currently lives in Oxford, England, with his wife and two children


A Pictorial Tour through The Savage Garden
The house and gardens of the Villa Docci near Florence, built in the 1570s, are presumably fictitious, but are compared to the famous Italian Renaissance gardens of Villa di Castello and Villa Gamberaia, albeit on a smaller, more human scale (p.45).

Although most of the plot takes place in and around the Villa Docci, our narrator also visits various other Tuscan locales, including Florence, the walled town of San Casciano south of Florence (p.25), San Miniato al Monte (p.114), Sienna (p.261), Crete Senesi and the Abbey of Monte Oliveto Maggiore, and Pienza (p.261-262).

He also takes a quick trip to view the scenery along the hairpin bends of the Via Volterrana, taking in towns such as San Gimignano (p.260).


Did you know? Dorothy L Sayers (1893-1957) maybe best remembered as the author of the Lord Peter Wimsey mysteries but she was also a scholar of classical and modern languages, who considered her finest work to be her translation of Dante's Inferno, which is still in print and is frequently referred to by Adam during his investigations of the mysteries of the Villa Docci.

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Savage Garden. It originally ran in May 2007 and has been updated for the May 2008 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.