Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Sister Mine

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sister Mine

A Novel

by Tawni O'Dell

Sister Mine by Tawni O'Dell X
Sister Mine by Tawni O'Dell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

US Military Recruitment Facts & Stats

After several bad years, all branches of the military met their 2006 & 2007 recruitment targets (figures below are 2007 stats rounded to the nearest 1000):

  • Army: 80,000
  • Navy: 37,000
  • Marines: 36,000
  • Air Force: 28,000

This was a relief for the military, as the ongoing war in Iraq has made recruitment increasingly difficult. It is rare to try to fill wartime ranks purely with volunteers. The Spanish-American War, Mexican-American War and Gulf War are the only conflicts since 1775 that did not rely in part on conscripts.

Targets were met by improving incentives and loosening standards:

  • In 2006 enlistment bonuses were doubled to $40,000, and other financial incentives such as college scholarships were sweetened.
  • The maximum age for recruits was raised twice, from 35 to 40 and then to 42.
  • The Army doubled its percentage of recruits who score on the lower level of the aptitude table, from 2% to 4%.
  • In 2006 the Pentagon issued over 8,000 waivers to convicted criminals who joined up (up 65% year on year) - those convicted of crimes such as aggravated assault and robbery are eligible for a waiver, those convicted of sex crimes and drug trafficking are not. 12% of Army recruits in 2006 had criminal records.

The Pentagon now has 8,000 recruiters who are instructed to talk up the excitement and personal growth potential recruits will experience in the military, and downplay the 4,000+ Americans killed and 30,000+ wounded to date in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Nationwide, counties with the highest recruiting rates have incomes about 30% lower than average for their respective states. About 44% of recruits are from the South.

Popular recruiting grounds include high schools, shopping malls and the NASCAR racing circuit where the Army's interactive game, that allows potential recruits to fire a simulated machine gun at virtual insurgents, is a popular recruitment tool.

A growing portion of the Pentagon's $665 million advertising budget for recruitment is spent targeting parents with the message that military service instills confidence and direction in children.

Under the federal No Child Left Behind Act, high schools are required to provide military recruiters with their students' names and contact information, unless students sign an opt-out form. National organizations such as the PTA complain that recruiters have been contacting 16- and 17-year-olds without parents' knowledge, and that tactics such as sending free t-shirts, Frisbees and video games, exploit kids' naiveté.


Surrogacy & Adoption

Another set of issues explored in Sister Mine are those surrounding surrogacy and adoption. The first link below is an interesting article about the "baby business". The second is an upbeat site providing a virtual meeting ground for the surrogacy community.

This article was originally published in April 2007, and has been updated for the May 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.