Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Yellowcake

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Yellowcake

A Novel

by Ann Cummins

Yellowcake by Ann Cummins X
Yellowcake by Ann Cummins
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Did you know?
According to the Uranium Information Center:

  • Over half of the world's production of uranium is from mines in Australia and Canada.
  • 8 mining companies account for almost 80% of production.
  • Nuclear energy supplies over 16% of the world's electricity.
  • 31 countries use nuclear energy to generate electricity.
  • 80% of France's electricity is from nuclear power.
  • Over 12,000 reactor years of operational experience have been accumulated since the 1950s by the world's 440 nuclear power reactors (and nuclear reactors powering naval vessels have clocked up a similar amount).
  • The Chernobyl meltdown was in a reactor that lacked the basic engineering provisions necessary for licensing in most parts of the world. When the reactor at the Three Mile Island plant in Harrisburg, PA, suffered a similar malfunction in 1979 the effects were contained and no-one suffered any harm or injury.
  • In terms of cost, it is often still cheaper to mine and burn coal, but if carbon dioxide emissions are built into the equation, nuclear energy is cost efficient.
  • Waste management is built into the cost of producing nuclear energy.
  • Generating enough nuclear energy for 100 people in the western world for a year creates about 3 kg of spent fuel.
  • Spent fuel is transferred to a large storage pool where it remains for up to 50 years.
  • After 40 years, the spent fuel has only one thousandth of its initial radioactivity remaining, making it very much easier to handle and dispose of.
  • Many homes have smoke detectors which depend on a tiny amount of americium, derived from plutonium made in a nuclear reactor.
  • In the developed countries, it is estimated that about one half of all people will be treated with nuclear medicine at some stage of their lives.

    This article was originally published in March 2007, and has been updated for the April 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

    This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.