Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Kockroach

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Kockroach

A Novel

by Tyler Knox

Kockroach by Tyler Knox X
Kockroach by Tyler Knox
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2006, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2008, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Kockroach

Print Review

Tyler Knox is the pseudonym of former Philadelphia lawyer William Lashner, known for his Victor Carl legal thriller series. Lashner decided to write under a new name not for the purposes of "rebranding or putting one over my readers ..... but purely for the freedom of doing something completely new." On Sarah Weinman's website he explains that he loves writing crime fiction and, within the requirements of the genre, can write about pretty much what he wants but that he has to admit to a secret vice - he's always wanted to write "small existential novels!" He adores both Kafka and Kerouac and had an urge to write something completely different than crime novels.


Facts you'd rather not know about cockroaches

  • The world's largest roaches are about 4 inches long and apparently make good low-maintenance pets (but not in my house).
  • There are over 3,500 species of cockroaches worldwide.
  • Cockroaches will eat anything - left-over human food, wood, leather, cigarette butts, coffee grinds, soap, feces, fabric, shoes, paint, the glue on the back of wallpaper, human hair, fingernails, etc.
  • Cockroaches have been on earth a long time - about 280 million years!
  • A cockroach can live a week without its head. The roach only dies because without a mouth, it can't drink water and dies of thirst.
  • Apparently, crushed cockroaches relieve the pain of an open wound. If anyone wishes to test and confirm this, please let us know.
  • More fascinating cockroach facts!

Useful link: Read Franz Kafka's The Metamorphosis.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Kockroach. It originally ran in February 2007 and has been updated for the March 2008 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.