Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Echo Maker

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Echo Maker

A Novel

by Richard Powers

The Echo Maker by Richard Powers X
The Echo Maker by Richard Powers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2006, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2007, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to The Echo Maker

Print Review

Did you know?

  • Richard Powers wrote most of The Echo Maker on a tablet PC using voice recognition software. He says, "I’ve always wanted the freedom to be completely disembodied when I’m writing, to feel as if I’m in a pure compositional state. Typing is a highly unnatural activity, and your writing style ends up reflecting the cognitive shackles."
  • According to an article in the Guardian (UK), before he was married Powers spent a year not speaking to anyone - at the end of which he'd written a 400-page novel but, as he puts it, had become "a bit weird".
  • For many years, he was uncomfortable giving interviews, and did not speak to the press until his third novel was published; his photograph did not appear on the dust jacket of his books until his fifth book - he finds the act of formally advertising his personality stressful and strange; an attitude he's been forced to abandon with his increasing success.
  • In The Echo Maker Powers explores the fine line between public and private persona through the character of the neurologist Gerald Weber, examining what happens when a person starts to rely on the opinion of others for their self-respect, and what happens to that person when there is a dramatic and sudden shift in opinion - as happens to Gerald when his latest book is met with scathing reviews causing him to question everything about himself. In the light of the comments above about Powers's own reluctance to be caught up in his own publicity, this plotline reads as something of a cautionary tale to those who have, or aspire to, fame!
  • Mark suffers from Capgras syndrome, named after Jean Marie Joseph Capgras (1873-1950) who first identified this rare syndrome in which the person effected believes close relatives/friends are imposters.
  • The Echo Maker is set against the backdrop of the migratory bird populations that pass through the Platte River (a tributary of the Missouri River in Nebraska), and the environmental battles being fought over the River, as the demands on its water, both from farming and from the growing population of Colorado, cause it to shrink further and further.

Interesting Links:

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Echo Maker. It originally ran in November 2006 and has been updated for the September 2007 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Half-Life of Everything
by Deborah Carol Gang

A beautifully written and uplifting debut novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.