Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Human Traces

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Human Traces

A Novel

by Sebastian Faulks

Human Traces by Sebastian Faulks X
Human Traces by Sebastian Faulks
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 576 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2006, 618 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Sebastian Faulks was born on 20 April 1953 and was educated in England at Wellington College and Emmanuel College, Cambridge. He was the first literary editor of The Independent (a leading British newspaper launched in 1986) and became deputy editor of the Independent on Sunday before leaving in 1991 to concentrate on writing; he continues to contribute articles and reviews to a number of newspapers and magazines.

He is well-known for his three novels set in wartime France: The Girl at the Lion d'Or (1989), set between the First and Second World Wars, Birdsong (1993), the story of a young Englishman and his harrowing experiences fighting in northern France during the First World War; and Charlotte Gray (1998), the adventures of a young Scottish woman who becomes involved with the French resistance during the Second World War.  His more recent novels are On Green Dolphin Street (2001), a love story set against the backdrop of the Cold War, and Human Traces (published in the UK in 2005 and in the USA this month). His next novel is scheduled for release in the UK in May 2007.  Titled Engleby, it is about a man, devoid of scruple or self-pity, rising through the ranks during the Thatcher years and into the "blandscape of New Labour".  The book jacket blurb describes it as "a lament for a generation and the country it failed".

He lives with his wife and three children (aged about 15, 13 and 9) in a house in Holland Park, London.  When asked whether he consciously chose to write a weightier novel following the relatively slim On Green Dolphin Street, he replies "I didn't sit down and say to myself, 'Right, in the next book you are going to write a really big, ambitious story with massively weighty themes.' I'm glad that this has been that book, but you can't really choose. I feel as if I'm the passive instrument of whatever is out there. Something comes along and says, 'Write me.'"

Bibliography

  • A Trick of the Light (1984)
  • The Girl at the Lion d'Or (1989)
  • A Fool's Alphabet (1992)
  • Birdsong (1993)
  • The Fatal Englishman: Three Short Lives (nonfiction, 1996)
  • Charlotte Gray (1998)
  • The Vintage Book of War Stories (editor, with Jorg Hensgen, 1999)
  • On Green Dolphin Street (2001)
  • Human Traces (2005)
  • Pistache (a collection of parodies and pastiches, mostly from BBC Radio 4's The Write Stuff, (Oct 2006 in the UK)
  • Engleby (2007, in the UK).

This article is from the October 5, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.