Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Interpretation of Murder

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Interpretation of Murder

A Novel

by Jed Rubenfeld

The Interpretation of Murder by Jed Rubenfeld X
The Interpretation of Murder by Jed Rubenfeld
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2007, 450 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

The Interpretation of Murder is inspired by the real-life mystery surrounding Freud's one and only visit to America in 1909 when he came to deliver lectures at Clark University. The trip appeared to be a tremendous success and Freud was portrayed glowingly in newspapers. However, he returned to Europe referring to Americans as "savages" and "primitives" and blaming America for his breakdown in health, even though he had been sick well before visiting the USA.

Although many of Freud's theories have been rejected, his memory, and some of his methods, live on. One example is the "Freudian slip" (medically known as parapraxia - from the Greek para - beside, and praxis - action) in which a slip of the tongue is thought to reveal a repressed motive. Another, is the "talking-cure" - when Freud first proposed that patients be allowed to talk over their problems his methods were considered revolutionary and not all that welcome. Today, talk therapy is a fundamental part of treatment, even amongst psychiatrists who have rejected Freud's other theories. More about Freud at BookBrowse.


The Swiss psychiatrist and writer Carl Jung was born in 1875 and died in 1961. His work focused on the exploration of the unconscious. The ubiquitous Myers-Briggs Personality Inventory test is based on his theories.

Also of interest:
An interview with Jed Rubenfeld at BookBrowse.
The Interpretation of Murder website - which includes an enjoyable but too brief photographic tour of historical New York.

This article was originally published in September 2006, and has been updated for the June 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.