MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading A Woman in Jerusalem

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Woman in Jerusalem

by A B. Yehoshua

A Woman in Jerusalem by A B. Yehoshua X
A Woman in Jerusalem by A B. Yehoshua
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2006, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2007, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to A Woman in Jerusalem

Print Review

One of Israel's preeminent writers, the novelist, essayist and playwright Abraham B. Yehoshua (b. 1936) has been awarded the Israel Prize, the Koret Jewish Book Award, and the National Jewish Book Award. Born in Jerusalem, he lives in Haifa where he is a professor of Literature. He studied Hebrew Literature and Philosophy at the Hebrew University and has since taught at high school and university level. He also taught in Paris while living there from 1963 to 1967.   He is known publicly as A. B. Yehoshua, and familiarly as "Boolie".  When asked about his formative influences he names Franz Kafka, Shmuel Yosef Agnon, and William Faulkner


Bibliography of Works Available in English
(dates are believed to be the first publication dates in English, but with so many different books published in so many different languages it is quite possible some are off by a few years).

  • Three Days and a Child (1970)
  • A Night in May (play) (1974)
  • Early in the Summer of (1977)
  • The Lover (1978)
  • Between Right and Right (essays) (1981)
  • A Late Divorce (1984)
  • The Continuing Silence of a Poet (stories) (1988)
  • Five Seasons (1989)
  • Mr. Mani (1992)
  • Possessions (play) (1993)
  • Open Heart (The Return from India)  (1995)
  • Israel (essay) (1998)
  • Voyage/Journey to the End of the Millenium (1999)
  • The Terrible Power of a Minor Guilt (2000)
  • The Liberating Bride (2004)
  • A Woman in Jerusalem (2005)
     

This "beyond the book article" relates to A Woman in Jerusalem. It originally ran in August 2006 and has been updated for the August 2007 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.