Beyond the Book: Background information when reading A Woman in Jerusalem

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Woman in Jerusalem

by A B. Yehoshua

A Woman in Jerusalem
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2006, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2007, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

One of Israel's preeminent writers, the novelist, essayist and playwright Abraham B. Yehoshua (b. 1936) has been awarded the Israel Prize, the Koret Jewish Book Award, and the National Jewish Book Award. Born in Jerusalem, he lives in Haifa where he is a professor of Literature. He studied Hebrew Literature and Philosophy at the Hebrew University and has since taught at high school and university level. He also taught in Paris while living there from 1963 to 1967.   He is known publicly as A. B. Yehoshua, and familiarly as "Boolie".  When asked about his formative influences he names Franz Kafka, Shmuel Yosef Agnon, and William Faulkner


Bibliography of Works Available in English
(dates are believed to be the first publication dates in English, but with so many different books published in so many different languages it is quite possible some are off by a few years).

  • Three Days and a Child (1970)
  • A Night in May (play) (1974)
  • Early in the ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and backstories are a members-only benefit. Full information is available on books for a limited time when they are featured as "Editor's Choices" - but that time has now elapsed for this book.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.