Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Cockeyed

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cockeyed

A Memoir

by Ryan Knighton

Cockeyed by Ryan Knighton X
Cockeyed by Ryan Knighton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2007, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Cockeyed

Print Review

Ryan Knighton teaches contemporary literature and creative writing at Capilano College in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.  He's the author of two books of poetry, Swing in The Hollow (2002)  and Two Bits (2007), and co-author of a collection of short fiction (Cars, 2002); he has also published widely as a journalist and essayist, and has produced, written and performed radio monologues and documentaries about blindness for the CBC.

He was born in 1972, in British Columbia, Canada and in 1995 completed a BA Honours in English at Simon Fraser University. After a period teaching in Korea (hilariously and poignantly described in Cockeyed) he returned to Canada where he completed his BA in 1998. Despite his rapidly failing eyesight, Knighton was hired just days shy of his twenty-sixth birthday by Capilano College's English Department where he continues to teach literature and creative writing at the school.  He is now in the final stage before total blindness, only 1% of his visual field refuses to quit. As for interests, he has many, but none involve sports or sudden movements. Every year he adds another tattoo to his collection, and hopes it comes close to what he imagines!

He has just signed a two-book deal with Knopf Canada.  All things being equal, in 2009, Knopf will publish Little Light of Mine, his misadventures in fatherhood, and in 2012 they will publish Ryan's first travel book, Nothing to See Here," in which he searches for experiences of what he can taste, smell, touch and hear.

He lives in East Vancouver with his wife, Tracy.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Cockeyed. It originally ran in August 2006 and has been updated for the June 2007 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.