Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Art of Detection

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Art of Detection

A Novel of Suspense

by Laurie R. King

The Art of Detection by Laurie R. King X
The Art of Detection by Laurie R. King
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2007, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Laurie King was born in northern California, the third generation in her family native to the San Francisco area. According to her bio she "spent her childhood reading her way through libraries like a termite through balsa, and her middle years raising children, traveling the world, and studying theology, earning a BA degree in comparative religion and an MA in Old Testament Theology. She now lives a genteel life of crime, back again in northern California."

She published her first book, A Kate Martinelli mystery, in 1993; the following year she came out with her first Mary Russell novel, The Beekeeper's Apprentice, for the next couple of years she managed to turn out a book from both series each year, before focusing on the Mary Russell series. In addition she has written a handful of stand alone novels, including Keeping Watch.

Fans of Laurie King and Holmes aficionados would do well to spend some time at her website which is full of information on her books, fun interviews and the like. Her essay on the the chronology of Holmes is particularly interesting if you're one of the many who have wondered about the apparently large age difference between Mary Russell and the great detective.

Her next book, Touchstone, about Bennett Grey, a man transformed by the Great War into a human touchstone who reacts to truth just as quicksilver reacts to gold*, was to release this summer but appears to have been delayed. We're seeing indications that it might be out around Christmas, but not enough to be certain at this point.

*If you break a mercury thermometer be careful that the mercury (also known as quicksilver) does not come in contact with gold, such as a wedding ring, as the mercury and gold will bond together, turning the ring silver-colored and making it unsafe to wear. A professional can reverser the process using heat. Gold mining with mercury is now illegal but in the past mercury was extensively used to filter gold out of water. The mercury would bond with the gold and the resulting amalgam would sink, while the sand and gravel would pass over. Unfortunately up to 10-30% of the mercury was lost during the process, resulting in high levels of contamination in many mining areas that exist to this day.

This article was originally published in June 2006, and has been updated for the May 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Overstory
    The Overstory
    by Richard Powers
    Many glowing adjectives can be used to describe a novel by Richard Powers: brilliant, moving, ...
  • Book Jacket: American Histories
    American Histories
    by John E. Wideman
    In American Histories, a collection of 21 short stories, John Edgar Wideman draws America's present ...
  • Book Jacket: I Found My Tribe
    I Found My Tribe
    by Ruth Fitzmaurice
    Ruth O'Neill was only 28 when she married film director Simon Fitzmaurice in 2004. Changing her...
  • Book Jacket: The Art of the Wasted Day
    The Art of the Wasted Day
    by Patricia Hampl
    Patricia Hampl wants you to know that daydreaming is not a waste of a day. Nor is spending time ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Music of the Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner

A love story for things lost and restored, a lyrical hymn to the power of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl Who Smiled Beads
    by Clemantine Wamariya & Elizabeth Weil

    A riveting story of survival, and the power of stories to save us.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Leavers

The Leavers by Lisa Ko

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--now in paperback!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T E H N Clothes

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.