Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Art of Detection

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Art of Detection

A Novel of Suspense

by Laurie R. King

The Art of Detection by Laurie R. King X
The Art of Detection by Laurie R. King
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 368 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2007, 496 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to The Art of Detection

Print Review

Laurie King was born in northern California, the third generation in her family native to the San Francisco area. According to her bio she "spent her childhood reading her way through libraries like a termite through balsa, and her middle years raising children, traveling the world, and studying theology, earning a BA degree in comparative religion and an MA in Old Testament Theology. She now lives a genteel life of crime, back again in northern California."

She published her first book, A Kate Martinelli mystery, in 1993; the following year she came out with her first Mary Russell novel, The Beekeeper's Apprentice, for the next couple of years she managed to turn out a book from both series each year, before focusing on the Mary Russell series. In addition she has written a handful of stand alone novels, including Keeping Watch.

Fans of Laurie King and Holmes aficionados would do well to spend some time at her website which is full of information on her books, fun interviews and the like. Her essay on the the chronology of Holmes is particularly interesting if you're one of the many who have wondered about the apparently large age difference between Mary Russell and the great detective.

Her next book, Touchstone, about Bennett Grey, a man transformed by the Great War into a human touchstone who reacts to truth just as quicksilver reacts to gold*, was to release this summer but appears to have been delayed. We're seeing indications that it might be out around Christmas, but not enough to be certain at this point.

*If you break a mercury thermometer be careful that the mercury (also known as quicksilver) does not come in contact with gold, such as a wedding ring, as the mercury and gold will bond together, turning the ring silver-colored and making it unsafe to wear. A professional can reverser the process using heat. Gold mining with mercury is now illegal but in the past mercury was extensively used to filter gold out of water. The mercury would bond with the gold and the resulting amalgam would sink, while the sand and gravel would pass over. Unfortunately up to 10-30% of the mercury was lost during the process, resulting in high levels of contamination in many mining areas that exist to this day.

Filed under

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Art of Detection. It originally ran in June 2006 and has been updated for the May 2007 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    by Sidik Fofana
    'Everybody got a story, everybody got a tale / Question is: Is it despair or prevail?' ...
  • Book Jacket: Fire Season
    Fire Season
    by Leyna Krow
    Fire Season is a thoroughly enjoyable novel that touches upon multiple genres and themes. It ...
  • Book Jacket: The Story of Russia
    The Story of Russia
    by Orlando Figes
    In The Story of Russia, British historian and writer Orlando Figes shares panoramic and ...
  • Book Jacket: Moth
    Moth
    by Melody Razak
    On August 15, 1947, India gained independence from the United Kingdom, and on that same day the ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.