MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading A Woman In Berlin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Woman In Berlin

by   Anonymous

A Woman In Berlin by   Anonymous X
A Woman In Berlin by   Anonymous
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2005, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2006, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to A Woman In Berlin

Print Review

In ancient times rape was seen as a reward to the victors; for example, there are a number of references in the Old Testament/Hebrew Scriptures to acts of mass rape by conquerors, and plenty in Roman and Greek history.

In modern times mass rape has been increasingly used as a premeditated terror tactic by invading armies. According to ReligiousTolerance.org the Germans used rape as a tactic of terror as they marched through Belgium in World War I and gang rape was part of the orchestrated riots of Kristallnacht that marked the beginning of the Nazi campaigns against the Jews in November 1938 (incidentally, the British historian Martin Gilbert, has just published a very well reviewed book about Kristallnacht). The Russians used it as a weapon of revenge when they marched to Berlin in WWII, the Japanese raped an estimated 80,000 Chinese women in Nanking (and the total number of "comfort women" rapes between 1930-1945 is estimated at 10 million) and, sadly, it appears that rape of Vietnamese by American G.I.s was considered "standard operating procedure aimed at terrorizing the population into submission"

According to Anthony Beevor (Berlin - The Downfall 1945) the number of women raped during WWII ran into the millions, "a high proportion' of at least 15 million women who lived in the Soviet zone or were expelled from Germany's eastern provinces were raped." East German women from the World War II era used to (and probably still do) refer to the Red Army war memorial in Berlin as "the Tomb of the Unknown Rapist."

There have been numerous cases in recent religiously-motivated wars: In the early 1990s the Serbians used it as a tactic to encourage Bosnian Muslim women to flee their land (an estimated 20,000 were raped) and the Hutu leaders ordered their troops to rape Tutsi women as an integral part their genocidal campaign. Moving on to the late 1990s, Indonesian security forces allegedly raped ethnic Chinese women during a spate of major rioting and Serbian military units systematically raped ethnic Albanian Muslim women in Kosovo.

Of course, there are a number of international laws concerning rape during wartime, for example Article 27 of the Fourth Geneva Convention states that "women shall be especially protected against any attack on their honour, in particular against rape, enforced prostitution, or any form of indecent assault."

This "beyond the book article" relates to A Woman In Berlin. It originally ran in April 2006 and has been updated for the July 2006 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.