Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Dreamwalker's Child

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dreamwalker's Child

by Steve Voake

The Dreamwalker's Child by Steve Voake
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Did you know?

Steve Voake spent eight years as head teacher of Kilmersdon Primary School in Somerset, England; known as the "Jack and Jill" school because it is said that the original well referenced in the rhyme is in the grounds of the school.

Jack and Jill went up the hill
To fetch a pail of water,
Jack fell down and broke his crown
And Jill came tumbling after.

However, Kilmersdon is just one claimant to this particular nursery rhyme.

Some say that Jack and Jill is a reference to the 17th Century English King (also King of Scotland and Ireland), Charles I, who tried to reform the taxes on liquid measures by reducing the volume of a 1/2 pint of beer, commonly known as a Jack, while keeping the tax the same.  If this is the case, Jill would be a reference to a "gill", pronounced jill - a now out of use term for a 1/4 pint measurement.  Charles was beheaded in 1649 on the grounds of high treason, which just goes to show that you shouldn't mess with the English about important issues such as beer (or the many other conflicts that led to his execution)!

Another theory is that the rhyme is a reference to Louis XVI and his queen, Marie Antoinette, who lost their heads during the French Revolution. Apparently, the first known publication date for "Jack and Jill" is 1795, which fits with this theory.

Others contend that Jack and Jill is a reference to Norse mythology which tells of Hyuki and Bil.  You can read more about this in the "BookBrowse Says" linked from The Sea of Trolls.

Yet others, especially those in Somerset, hold that the rhyme originates in Kilmersdon, Somerset and is linked to the last name Gilson, which probably originates in the area. 

This article was originally published in April 2006, and has been updated for the March 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.