Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Before The Frost

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Before The Frost

by Henning Mankell

Before The Frost by Henning Mankell X
Before The Frost by Henning Mankell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2005, 383 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2006, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

The Kurt Wallender series is set primarily in Mankell's native Sweden.  You'll find Sweden in the north of Europe between Finland and Norway. With a population of about 9 million, a landmass about the same size as California and a stable population, most people enjoy a good quality of life (albeit cold at some times of the year).  Sweden was a military power up until the 17th century (and long before - think Vikings!),  but has not participated in any war for almost 200 years.  More about Sweden.

The apolcalyptic plot that Wallander and his daughter uncover has its beginnings in the 1978 mass suicide of Jim Jones's followers.  Born in 1931, Jones founded the People's Temple church in 1953.  Following disturbing reports by people who had succeeded in leaving the cult, Jones moved to Guyana in South America; 800 of his congregation followed him.  In November 1978, US Congressman Leo Ryan (California) visited to investigate abuse claims.  A number of Temple members expressed a desire to leave but as they left for the airstrip Temple security guards fired on them, killing Ryan, three journalists and one Temple member.  Later that day Jones ordered his congregation to drink a cyanide-laced fruit drink, those who resisted were shot, strangled or injected with cyanide.  In all 913 died, including 276 children and Jones.  More about Jones.

This article is from the February 15, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.