Beyond the Book: Background information when reading In The Company of the Courtesan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In The Company of the Courtesan

by Sarah Dunant

In The Company of the Courtesan by Sarah Dunant
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2007, 392 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

A Brief History of The Renaissance

The Renaissance period (from the French word 'rebirth', Il Rinascimento in Italian) was a period of scientific and cultural changes. The Renaissance was triggered by a new interest in the ancient classical texts and a desire to learn how they could be applied to the arts and sciences - the result was a rebirth of European culture as a whole.

There is no one event that started or ended the period but the general consensus is that it began in the 14th century in northern Italy, and spread north through Europe during the 15th century. The English Renaissance began during the Elizabethan period (16th century). Although much of the new thinking originated in Italy, it was not all one way - during the 15th century innovation also spread southward, for example, Burgundy (now Eastern France, Netherlands & Belgium) was an area of musical creativity.

However, these changes only effected a small minority of the population - primarily the wealthy and powerful. For the majority, life was little changed from the centuries that came before. Indeed, some historians point out that many of the negative social factors usually associated with the former 'medieval' period (poverty, ignorance, warfare, religious and political persecution etc) actually worsened during the Renaissance.

A Pictorial Who's Who of Some Leading Renaissance Figures

*If you have trouble recognizing the paintings of Botticelli just remember the advice of my elementary school art teacher - "Botticelli paints people with chilly botties", but then again, so did many other Renaissance painters!

This article was originally published in February 2006, and has been updated for the February 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.