Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Third Secret

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Third Secret

by Steve Berry

The Third Secret by Steve Berry X
The Third Secret by Steve Berry
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2005, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

If you were uncomfortable with the plot line in The Da Vinci Code, you'll want to keep The Third Secret at more than arms length!

The premise of the book is that the 'Third Secret of Fatima' wasn't revealed in its entirety. In this Berry is reflecting the opinion that a number of people expressed at the time the final prophesy was revealed in 2000 - 40 years after the first two prophecies had been revealed and 19 years after the Vatican claimed it had been fulfilled (with the attempted assassination of Pope John Paul II). It's not to say that a prophesy predicting the murder of a Pope isn't of import, but many felt that it was not sufficient to warrant withholding the prophesy for so long, and certainly not for 19 years after it was apparently fulfilled!

Interesting Links:
One of the many websites about the Fatima prophesies, which outlines the reasons some believe the 3rd Secret was not revealed in its entirety.

Facsimiles of the original handwritten Prophesies of Fatima, in the Vatican Library.

This article was originally published in July 2005, and has been updated for the January 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.