Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Hungry Tide

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Hungry Tide

A Novel

by Amitav Ghosh

The Hungry Tide by Amitav Ghosh X
The Hungry Tide by Amitav Ghosh
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2005, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to The Hungry Tide

Print Review

The estuarine delta of the Sundarbans is a harsh area prone to natural disasters, such as the cyclone in 1970 which killed 300,000 people. During 'normal' cyclones the mangrove swamps absorb much of the first shock which is why the people of the area do not build close to the sea.

Despite this a business group have ambitious plans to build an enormous tourism complex in the region, with everything from 'virgin beaches' to shopping centers, restaurants and mini-golf courses.

As Ghosh, and many others, point out, this would not only be an ecological disaster for the area but also a likely financial disaster for the group. The river system carries 8 times as much silt as the Amazon so there are no pristine beaches to be had, the waters are heaving with estuarine sharks and crocodiles, the undercurrents are hazardous, and bacteria and parasites flourish in the water, making it a distinctly unsuitable place for swimming. Add to that the fact that the floating hotels would be a sitting target for cyclones and tidal waves, and that the destruction of the mangrove forests would increase the danger to the local population, and you have a recipe for disaster! More about this.

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Hungry Tide. It originally ran in May 2005 and has been updated for the June 2006 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.