Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Sea of Trolls

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sea of Trolls

by Nancy Farmer

The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer X
The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2004, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle was originally compiled on the orders of King Alfred the Great in approximately A.D. 890. It was subsequently maintained and added to by generations of anonymous scribes until the middle of the 12th Century. If you have any interest in British history it's worth skimming the version at Project Guttenberg (which is compiled from about 8 distinct versions of the Chronicle), if only to read the entries for such well known dates as 1066.

Some people believe that the nursery rhyme, 'Jack and Jill went up the hill to fetch a pail of water....' comes from a Norse legend about two boys (Hjuki and Bill) who were sent by their father to collect song-mead from Mimir's Well. On their way back, with a full bucket of mead, they were carried off by the moon god.

As an interesting aside, you may remember a few weeks ago that I recommended The Dreamwalker's Child by Steve Voake, and noted in his bio that he's the former headmaster of a school in the South of England nicknamed the Jack and Jill school because local lore says that the well in the school grounds is the one that Jack and Jill went to. It seems that like so many popular legends, more than one group lay claim to the story as, somehow, I don't think that the Norse legends about a well of knowledge in the land of giants had in mind a charming village in the South of England! Having said that, both sources might be wrong - as others contend that Jack and Jill is a reference to Charles I and his tax reforms, while others believe it to refer to Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette. For more about this see the "BookBrowse Says" linked from The Dreamwalker's Child.

Is there such a Chinese curse as "may you live in interesting times"? In a speech in South Africa in 1966, Robert F Kennedy said, 'There is a Chinese curse which says, 'May he live in interesting times'....Journalists picked up on the phrase and it has been re-quoted countless times since. Ironically it appears that there is no such Chinese curse. The closest Chinese variation is the proverb, "It's better to be a dog in a peaceful time than be a man in a chaotic period."

This article was originally published in February 2005, and has been updated for the May 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.