Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Eleven Minutes

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Eleven Minutes

by Paulo Coelho

Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2004, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2005, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Paulo Coelho was born in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, the city where he now lives. In 1970, after deciding that law school was not for him, he traveled through much of South America, North Africa, Mexico, and Europe. Returning to Brazil after two years, he began a successful career as a popular songwriter. In 1974, he was imprisoned for a short time by the military dictatorship then ruling in Brazil. In 1980, he experienced one of the defining moments of his life: he walked the 500-plus mile Road of Santiago de Compostela in northwestern Spain and achieved a self-awareness and a spiritual awakening that he later described in The Pilgrimage.  
For some more information about Coelho visit BookBrowse.  For a lot more information visit his website!

Bibliography  
This is a partial list of books by Coelho, dates are believed to be first publication dates - English translations lag by quite a few years in many cases.  The asterixed books are the ones I can confirm are available in English). 

  • The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream* (1988)
  • The Pilgrimage: A Contemporary Quest For Ancient Wisdom* (1987)
  • Brida (1990)
  • The Valkyries: An Encounter With Angels* (1992)
  • Maktub (1994)
  • By The River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept* (1994)
  • The Fifth Mountain* (1996)
  • Manual of the Warrior of Light (1997)
  • Veronika Decides To Die* (1998)
  • The Devil and Miss Pym* (2000)
  • Fathers, Sons & Grandsons (2001)
  • Eleven Minutes* (2003)

Coming Soon
The Zahir: A Novel of Love, Longing and Obsession (June 2005)

This article is from the March 16, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.