MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Holy Fools

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Holy Fools

A Novel

by Joanne Harris

Holy Fools by Joanne Harris X
Holy Fools by Joanne Harris
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2004, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2005, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Holy Fools

Print Review

Joanne Harris was born in Yorkshire in 1964, the daughter of a French mother and an English father. Her first novel, The Evil Seed, was published in 1989, although she strongly advises against reading it! Since then she has written; Sleep, Pale Sister (1993); Chocolat (1999); Blackberry Wine (2000); Five Quarters of the Orange (2001), Coastliners (2002), The French Kitchen (2002), Holy Fools (2003) and Jigs and Reels (2004).

Her next book, Gentlemen and Players, is scheduled for October 2005. The Latin master, a well known eccentric and veteran of St Oswald's grammar school for boys is finally contemplating retirement - but beneath the little rivalries, petty disputes and everyday crises of the School, a darker undercurrent stirs.

Before being able to turn to writing full time, Harris taught in a boys grammar school in the North of England for 12 years. She now lives in Yorkshire, England, with her husband and daughter, Anouchka, and is apparently at work on a fantasy novel for children called Runemarks, which she says she has been working on 'as much for my own pleasure as for Anouchka's, but that no-one else has seen yet'.

This article relates to Holy Fools. It first ran in the May 18, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.