Why do we say "All Roads Lead To Rome.

Well-Known Expressions

All Roads Lead To Rome

Meaning:

There are many different ways to reach the same outcome or destination.

Background:

This expression appears to be a modern working of a medieval expression. For example, 12th century French theologian Alain deLille wrote Mille viae ducunt homines per saecula Romam (A thousand roads lead men forever to Rome) in Liber Parabolarum. Chaucer's Treatise on the Astrolabe provides us with the earliest known English source: "Right as diverse pathes leden the folk the righte wey to Rome."

Whether the Romans used such an expression is not clear, but Emperor Caesar Augustus did erect a monument in the center of Rome known as the Miliarium Aureum (golden milestone) and many believe that all distances in the Roman empire were measured from that point. The remains of a monument engraved with the words Miliarium Aureum can been seen in the Roman Forum today, but most scholars do not believe that this is part of the original monument. What the monument looked like and what was engraved on it is also unknown. Indeed, it seems that it is not even certain that distances were measured from it, for example in his writings Pliny the Elder makes a passing reference to distances being measured from the City gates - about a mile away from where the monument is thought to have been located..

Putting all this aside, did all roads really lead to Rome?

Yes they did! At least within a significant part of the Italian Peninsula. The reason being to ensure that there was a road connecting all secondary cities to Rome but no roads connecting the cities to each other, making it more difficult for the cities to rise up in resistance against Rome. Outside of a few hundred miles from Rome, the road system forms more of a grid pattern to link regional cities - except for particularly important cities which are joined to other cities by a wheel and spoke pattern of roads - presumably for the same reasons as for Rome.

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.