Why do we say "His/her eyes are bigger than his/her stomach.

Well-Known Expressions

His/her eyes are bigger than his/her stomach

Meaning:

He or she has tried to consume more than can be handled.

Background:

Often referring to food consumption but can be used in reference to an excess in other regards. For example Gregory Titleman's America's Popular Proverbs and Sayings quotes Forbes magazine in 1984: "I got the feeling that Dick's eyes were bigger than his stomach," Hoffman explains. "He expanded too fast and invested some heavy dollars in new sites that didn't pay off."

The earliest known use is found in Euphues and His England, a didactic romance written by John Lyly in 1580 (didactic meaning instructional). Euphues derives from the Greek for "graceful, witty". The mannered and indirect style of Lyly's writing in Euphues gave rise to the term euphuism for writing that employed a deliberate excess of literary devices in order to show off classical learning and knowledge of all kinds. It came into fashion in the 1580s, particularly in the court of Elizabeth I, and apparently fell out of favor soon after. Shakespeare satirises the style in a number of plays including the florid language of the lovers in Love's Labour's Lost.

Do not confuse euphuism with euphemism, which both derive from the same Greek source but have different meanings. A euphemism is a seemingly innocuous word used in place of a more unpleasant term - such as an army "neutralizing" its enemy. Etymologically, eupheme is the opposite of blaspheme (evil-speach). The Greeks were fond of euphemisms. In fact, they used the term euphemism as a euphemism - meaning to keep a holy silence (that is to say, by speaking well by not speaking at all)!

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.