Why do we say "His/her eyes are bigger than his/her stomach.

Well-Known Expressions

His/her eyes are bigger than his/her stomach

Meaning:

He or she has tried to consume more than can be handled.

Background:

Often referring to food consumption but can be used in reference to an excess in other regards. For example Gregory Titleman's America's Popular Proverbs and Sayings quotes Forbes magazine in 1984: "I got the feeling that Dick's eyes were bigger than his stomach," Hoffman explains. "He expanded too fast and invested some heavy dollars in new sites that didn't pay off."

The earliest known use is found in Euphues and His England, a didactic romance written by John Lyly in 1580 (didactic meaning instructional). Euphues derives from the Greek for "graceful, witty". The mannered and indirect style of Lyly's writing in Euphues gave rise to the term euphuism for writing that employed a deliberate excess of literary devices in order to show off classical learning and knowledge of all kinds. It came into fashion in the 1580s, particularly in the court of Elizabeth I, and apparently fell out of favor soon after. Shakespeare satirises the style in a number of plays including the florid language of the lovers in Love's Labour's Lost.

Do not confuse euphuism with euphemism, which both derive from the same Greek source but have different meanings. A euphemism is a seemingly innocuous word used in place of a more unpleasant term - such as an army "neutralizing" its enemy. Etymologically, eupheme is the opposite of blaspheme (evil-speach). The Greeks were fond of euphemisms. In fact, they used the term euphemism as a euphemism - meaning to keep a holy silence (that is to say, by speaking well by not speaking at all)!

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.