Why do we say "Paddle your own canoe.

Well-Known Expressions

Paddle your own canoe

Meaning:

To be independent and take care of your own affairs

Background:

Frederick Marryat (1792-1848) - a British novelist and seaman, wrote in Settlers in Canada (1844):

"I think it much better that... every man paddle his own canoe"

In the 19th Century 'Paddle Your Own Canoe' was also the title of a popular song, and appeared in Sarah Bolton's popular poem of 1854, published in Harper's Magazine

Voyage upon life's sea,
To yourself be true,
And, whatever your lot may be
Paddle your own canoe.

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.