Why do we say "The moon is made of green cheese.

Well-Known Expressions

The moon is made of green cheese

Meaning:

Usually stated sarcastically with the implication that a person must be either gullible or ignorant because if they believe that they'll even believe the moon is made of cheese.

Background:

Just as for last week's proverb, 'he who laughs last laughs best', we have John Heywood's book of proverbs (1546) to thank for this week's saying.

In this context 'green' (in the original 'greene') does not refer to the color but rather the youthful age of the cheese.

Then we must ask the question whether the writer actually believed that the moon was made of cheese, aged or otherwise? The answer to which appears to be a firm no.

A later citation, albeit almost a century later, states, broadly speaking: "You may as soon persuade some Country Peasants, that the Moon is made of Green Cheese as that 'tis bigger than his Cart-wheel." (Wilkins, New World 1, 1638).

The gist of this being that not even the most ill educated of country folk would actually believe the moon to be made of cheese.

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.