Why do we say "Keep a stiff upper lip.

Well-Known Expressions

Keep a stiff upper lip

Meaning:

Don't show that you're upset, in the face of adversity be self-reliant, remain calm.

Background:

Just before starting to cry the lips tend to tremble. In which case, why does this expression refer only to the top lip? One theory is that, in the 19th century, most men had moustaches which would have made a quivering top lip more noticeable than the bottom.

Similar in meaning to "chin up", "keep a stiff upper lip" would see seem to be the epitome of Englishness (e.g. The Jeeves novel, Stiff Upper Lip by P. G. Wodehouse). However, apparently it originates in the USA, having been traced back as far as 1815.

"What's the use of boohooin'.... keep a stiff upper lip no bones broke -- don't I know?"
- Down Easters (1833) by John Neal.

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.