Excerpt from What To Read by Mickey Pearlman, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

What To Read

The Essential Guide for Reading Group Members and Other Book Lovers

by Mickey Pearlman

What To Read
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Mar 1999, 351 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

family; will they breed specimens for their own freak show? 348 pp.; 1989

10. Middlemarch George Eliot
Considered to be Eliot's masterpiece and one of the greatest books of the nineteenth century, this novel is about life in a provincial English town. The players are Dorothea, a modern St. Teresa; Lyngate, prototype for today's fashionable liposuction doctor; Rosamond, representing triviality and egoism; and the doomed banker Bulstrode. There is also Casaubon, the husband nobody wants but everyone will recognize. Thoroughly contemporary, and no one is educated without reading it. A must. 795 pp.; 1871-1872

11. Love Medicine Louise Erdrich
First book in a Native American tetralogy that includes The Beet Queen, Tracks, and The Bingo Palace, this is the multigenerational story of two families, the Kashpaws and the Lamartines. 304 pp.; 1984

12. The Sound and the Fury William Faulkner
Difficult but compelling study of the Compsons, an old southern family. This novel concentrates on that complex and subtle time of memory that meshes past and present, reality and illusion, the conscious and the subconscious. My personal choice for best American novel written in the first half of this century. Demanding but more than worth it. Read the shorter As I Lay Dying too. 427 pp.; 1929

13. Are You Mine? Abby Frucht
In her third novel Frucht sketches the moral dilemmas brought on by an unexpected third pregnancy. Her power is in humor. 304 pp.; 1993

14. Turtle Moon Alice Hoffman
A novel about a single mother, her complicated son, and a policeman with guilt. 255 pp.; 1992

15. Natural History Maureen Howard
When a society tramp kills a soldier toward the end of World War II, Billy Bray, a detective, is called on to investigate the case. The murder reveals an undertow of sex, crime, and moral confusion that sweeps Bray and his family into an uncertain future. 416 pp.; 1992

16. The 14 Sisters of Emilio Oscar Hijuelos Montez O'Brien
The author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love writes here about an Irish immigrant who travels to Cuba as a photographer during the Spanish-American War and meets the sensitive and poetic Mariela Montez. She bears him fourteen daughters and, finally, a son, Emilio. A paean to the feminine from a male author. 484 pp.; 1993

  • 1
  • 2

Copyright Mickey Pearlman 1999. All rights reserved. Reproduced with the permission of the publisher, Harper Collins.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.