Excerpt from Dr. Shapiro's Picture Perfect Weight Loss by Howard M. Shapiro, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dr. Shapiro's Picture Perfect Weight Loss

The Visual Program for Permanent Weight Loss

by Howard M. Shapiro

Dr. Shapiro's Picture Perfect Weight Loss by Howard M. Shapiro X
Dr. Shapiro's Picture Perfect Weight Loss by Howard M. Shapiro
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2000, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2001, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Chapter One

Seeing Is Believing: The Core Of Food awareness training
Does it seem to you that everywhere you go, people are talking about their diets?

It's true. One-third of Americans are overweight, while another third struggle constantly not to be. In 150 million homes each day, clock radios go off and people get out of bed, go into the bathroom, look in the mirror, and think about a diet.

But only about 9.5 million people are actually dieting at any given time.

What happens to the 140 million other promises? They're broken as soon as the man in the too-tight vest reaches for that piece of Danish pastry in the bustle of the morning meeting. For the mom who's at home with the kids, the diet promise ends as soon as she takes a few more nibbles of the kids' snack foods because she needs energy. For the person who has been chained to a desk all day, trying hard not to think about food, the diet promise comes to a crashing end with a late-night bowl of ice cream.

Everyone knows that being overweight isn't good for you. The insurance companies certainly know it: To determine risk groups, they have gathered masses of statistics about what happens to people who are overweight. They've realized that if you're overweight, you're more prone to diseases such as heart disease, diabetes, stroke, and high blood pressure. People who are overweight are more likely to need surgery, and once they've had the surgery, they're more likely to develop complications. Being overweight even affects your buying power: Those who weigh more are likely to earn less money, especially if they're executives.


Enough Incentives?
Better health and more prosperity are fine motivators. But even with these incentives, the thought of going on a diet is difficult to contemplate.

A diet is rigid. A diet is boring. A diet means giving up all the foods you like. A diet means changing your lifestyle. A diet means feeling hungry. And many people have discovered something else that's incredibly discouraging about diets: Once they're over, you usually begin to gain back the weight.

Before you take the first steps toward Food Awareness Training, I want you to get rid of all those thoughts about dieting. This is not like any diet you may have known. Food Awareness Training is flexible, not boring. You do not have to give up the food you love or change your lifestyle. You will never feel hungry. You will change your entire relationship with food so you need never be on the same up-and-down weight cycle again.

This is not a "diet book" in any conventional sense. Start with the fact that it is not just for dieters. You won't have to rely on prescriptions, diet gurus, or prepared meals. While this book will help anyone who is trying to lose weight, either through an individualized or group program or with the help of a doctor, it is also meant to help people who are trying to maintain weight, eat in a healthier way, or make better choices for their children.


Who Are You?
To be sure, the way you approach Food Awareness Training is likely to be influenced by experiences that you've had with diet or weight-loss programs in the past. Fortunately, the program has worked for a wide range of people—from those who have never tried diets to those who have been through numerous plans and programs that were designed to help them lose weight. And there's a reason why Food Awareness Training is just as effective for men as it is for women, and just as effective for young people as it is for those who are middle-age or older.

If you've never been concerned with weight loss, but you are now, Food Awareness Training can help you make food choices that assure you'll never have to go on a drastic weight-loss program. In fact, many people who come to see me are experiencing a weight problem for the first time.

Reprinted from Dr. Shapiro's Picture Perfect Weight Loss: The Visual Program for Permanent Weight Loss by Dr. Howard M. Shapiro, Copyright 2000. Permission granted by Rodale, Emmaus, PA 18098. Available wherever books are sold or directly from the publisher by calling (800)848-4735 or visit Rodale's website at www.rodalestore.com.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.