Excerpt from Cuba by Stephen Coonts, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cuba by Stephen Coonts X
Cuba by Stephen Coonts
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 390 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2000, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Yes, sir."

"There's a marine battalion landing team aboard Kearsarge, which is supposed to rendezvous with us tomorrow. I want Kearsarge to stay with United States. We'll put both ships in a race-track pattern about fifty miles south of here, outside Cuban territorial waters, and get on with our exercises. But we'll keep a weather eye peeled on this base."

"What about the base commander, sir? He may know more about this than we do."

"Get on the ship-to-shore net and invite him to have dinner with me tonight. Send a helo in to pick him up."

"Sir, your instructions specifically directed that you maintain a business-as-usual security posture."

"I remember," Jake said dryly.

"Of course, 'business as usual' is an ambiguous phrase," Toad mused. "If anything goes wrong you can be blamed for not doing enough or doing too much, whichever way the wind blows."

Jake Grafton snorted. "If a bunch of wild-eyed terrorists lay hands on those warheads, Tarkington, you and I will be fried, screwed, and tattooed regardless of what we did or didn't do. We'll have to will our bodies to science."

"What about the CO of the cruiser, Admiral? What do we tell him?"

"Draft a top-secret message directing him to keep his people ready to shoot."

"Aye, aye, sir."

"Nuestra Senora de Colon is sailing this evening for Norfolk. Have a destroyer accompany her until she is well out of Cuban waters."

"Yo." Toad was making notes on a small memo pad he kept in his hip pocket.

"And have the weather people give me a cloud-cover prediction for the next five days, or as far out as they can. I want to try to figure out what, if anything, the satellites might be seeing."

"You mean, are they keeping an eye on the Cuban military?"

"Or terrorists. Whoever."

"I'll take care of it, sir."

"I'm going to run a couple laps around the deck," Jake Grafton added.

"May I suggest putting a company of marines ashore to do a security survey of the base perimeter? Strictly routine."

"That sounds feasible," Jake Grafton said. "Tonight let's ask the base commander what he thinks."

"Yessir."

"Terrorists or the Cuban Army--wanna bet ten bucks? Take your pick."

"I only bet on sure things, sir, like prizefights and Super Bowls, occasionally a cockroach race."

"You're wise beyond your years, Toad," the admiral tossed over his shoulder as he headed for the hatch.

"That's what I tell Rita," Toad shot back. Rita Moravia was his wife.

Jake Grafton didn't hear the rest of Toad's comment. "And wisdom is a heavy burden, let me tell you. Real heavy. Sorta like biological warheads." He put the binoculars to his eyes and carefully studied the naval base.

Copyright (c) 1999 Stephen Coonts. All Rights Reserved

CHAPTER ONE

Guantanamo Bay, on the southeast coast of the island of Cuba, is the prettiest spot on the planet, thought Rear Admiral Jake Grafton, USN.

He was leaning on the railing on top of the carrier United States's superstructure, her island, a place the sailors called Steel Beach. Here off-duty crew members gathered to soak up some rays and do a few calisthenics. Jake Grafton was not normally a sun worshiper; at sea he rarely visited Steel Beach, preferring to arrange his day so that he could spend at least a half hour running on the flight deck. Today he was dressed in gym shorts, T-shirt, and tennis shoes, but he had yet to make it to the flight deck.

Copyright (c) 1999 Stephen Coonts. All Rights Reserved

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.