Excerpt from This Blessed Earth by Ted Genoways, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

This Blessed Earth

A Year in the Life of an American Family Farm

by Ted Genoways

This Blessed Earth by Ted Genoways X
This Blessed Earth by Ted Genoways
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2017, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 20, 2018, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Prologue
READYING THE BIN
September 2014

The last yellow hues of evening were fading to blue. A bright circle of sun blazing through an uncapped vent in the roof had climbed the corrugated side of the grain bin and smoldered out like an ember. Now the only remaining light, there in the dark interior, was the flame of Kyle Galloway's cutting torch—first a flickering orange tongue, then as he adjusted the hissing valve, a bright cerulean cone of fire. Sparks showered and bounced across the concrete slab as he cut another steel plank down to size.

Still in his twenties, Kyle was broad-chested, with dark, buzz-cut hair and a gentle round face and glasses that gave him a kindly, almost child-like air. But he moved through his work with quiet authority, inching across the width of the plank until the unwanted end clanked on the concrete. Kyle paused a beat to let the fresh cut cool, then he laid the plank into place, the next piece in a floor now nearly half done, and stomped it again and again with his heel. Each boot fall roared loud as thunder, shaking the whole structure, until the section snapped tight. Kyle stepped up, bouncing to test its soundness. Then, satisfied, he leaned through the open portal door.

Outside, in the gathering dark, Dave Tyson, the farm's hired man, handed over the next section of floor. Dave wore a ball cap and round glasses of his own. Easily twenty years Kyle's senior, he seemed to be making a conscious show of keeping pace. The sleeves of his flannel shirt were torn off, and the last of the summer heat formed a film of sweat on his pale biceps, the muscles tensing and flexing as he hoisted the flooring. Salvaged from an older bin on a distant part of the acreage, these planks had been laid up in a defunct hog shed for years. But nothing ever goes wholly to waste on the farm. Old tractors and field trucks, hay rakes and a faded harvester all stood tucked away in leaning barns or grown over by tall grass at the edge of a shelterbelt, dormant but awaiting purpose. For this flooring, it was finally here.

At the end of June 2014, crop counters at the U.S. Depart- ment of Agriculture had released estimates that the summer's mild weather and increased rainfall would mean a much-higher-than-expected yield. It's the kind of prediction that sounds like good news, but for farmers it meant an upcoming glut of grain. One report projected that the national soy-bean yield would be 3.3 million acres higher than expected at planting—not just cutting into profits but actually outstripping domestic demand. The outlook for corn was little better. Though acres planted to feed corn were down, the stockpiled reserves from the record yield of 2013 remained at an all-time high. On news of such unprecedented surpluses, corn and soybean futures nosedived among speculators at the Chicago Board of Trade. After several years of riding high on $8 corn, farmers watched prices fall to $3.50 per bushel. Soybeans, which had topped $17, dropped below $10.

Then in August, in the weeks just before harvest, a series of downpours moved across the middle of Nebraska, dumping two and three inches of rain at a time, pushing back the start date for bringing in the beans. While Kyle and Dave waited anxiously for fields to dry enough that a harvester wouldn't mire in the mud, projections for the national yield kept going up and up. Every day that the crops stayed out, unharvested and undelivered to the co-op, the per-bushel prices went lower. For weeks in nearby towns, at the firehouse in Hordville and the bar in Polk, even at the Iron Skillet at the truck stop south of York, the talk had turned to the Jews in Chicago making bank on the backs of farmers. Kyle didn't have time for that. He rolled his eyes and shook his head at old-timers who were drinking coffee and bullshitting instead of doing what they could to cut their losses.

Excerpted from This Blessed Earth by Ted Genoways. Copyright © 2017 by Ted Genoways. Excerpted by permission of W.W. Norton & Company. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Keystone XL Pipeline

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.