Excerpt from The Senility of Vladimir P. by Michael Honig, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Senility of Vladimir P.

by Michael Honig

The Senility of Vladimir P. by Michael Honig X
The Senility of Vladimir P. by Michael Honig
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2016, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2017, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Gary Presley

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Excerpt
The Senility of Vladimir P.

He didn't know how long he had been sitting there. Could have been two hours. Could have been two years.

Suddenly, a connection in his brain sparked to life and set of a chain of ignitions, like a momentary flickering of stars lighting up across a darkening, dying galaxy.

"Why am I here?" he yelled angry. "What am I doing?"

"Waiting," said Sheremetev, plumping up one of the pillows on his bed.

"What for?"

"For the meeting."

Vladimir's eyes narrowed. "Have I been briefed?"

"Of course," replied Sheremetev calmly.

"Good." Vladimir nodded. His expression changed, losing its anger. Already he was forgetting what he had been upset about. The connection, wherever it was in his brain, had been snuffed out, perhaps never to spark again, and the self-awareness that had erupted momentarily into his consciousness was gone. He sat quietly and watched Sheremetev work. Vladimir couldn't have said exactly who the other man was, but nonetheless he was at ease with him. Somehow, he knew that it was right for him to be making up the bed, and he had a feeling that it might even have happened before.

Sheremetev was a small man, dressed in a simple white shirt and a pair of dark trousers. He had never worn uniform when looking after Vladimir, but the deftness and economy of his movements as he tidied the bed betrayed a long career as a nurse. It was almost six years since Professor V. N. Kalin, the renowned neurologist, had asked him to become Vladimir' personal carer. That was shortly after Vladimir announced that he would be stepping down from the presidency. In those days, although the president's condition was evident to those who worked with him closely, he was still well enough to hold his own in tightly scripted public appearances for which he was carefully prepared. His successor, Gennadiy Sverkov, had even continued to have him wheeled out on occasion to try to draw some of the old wizard's magic onto his own increasingly lackluster administration. Back then, Vladimir still had a valet to dress him and a pair of aides to keep him abreast of events, and Sheremetev's role had been limited, but as Vladimir's memory deteriorated, so Sheremetev's responsibilities multiplied. With a couple of years, Vladimir's public appearances had become so erratic that even Sverkov's people grew wary of parading him, and rumours of his condition–never confirmed–began to circulate. The appearances ceased. First the two aides were dispensed with, then the valet, and Sheremetev was left alone with him.

The nurse had never concerned himself with politics and had never kept track of who was doing what to whom in the Kremlin. To him, the whole business was a murky soup out of which names rose and sank without apparent rhyme or reason, and what was happening under the surface–and surely things must be happening, as everyone said–wasn't something he tried to understand. He hadn't been aware of the rumor that Vladimir had been forced out as his ageing cronies scrambled to hold on to their positions in the dying days of his power. All he knew was that the president announced that he was retiring–and a few weeks later Professor Kalin summoned him to his office.

"Do you know my mother?" asked Vladimir, as Sheremetev plumped the last of the pillows and set it down on the bed.

"No, Vladimir Vladimirovich. I never had the honor of meeting her."

"I'll introduce you. She'll be here later. I've sent a car for her."

Sheremetev turned around. "It's time for your shower, Vladimir Vladimirovich. You'll have to get dressed in something special today. The new president is coming to see you."

Vladimir looked at him in confusion. "The new president? Aren't I the president?"

This selection is excerpted with permission from Michael Honig's The Senility of Vladimir P. Reprinted by arrangement with Pegasus Books. All rights reserved

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Luxury Watches

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.