Excerpt from All the Major Constellations by Pratima Cranse, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All the Major Constellations

by Pratima Cranse

All the Major Constellations by Pratima Cranse X
All the Major Constellations by Pratima Cranse
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Nov 2015, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Oh, the mercy of your touch.

With her eyes still closed, Carrie took his hand and gripped it tightly. Well then, this is kind of awesome, Andrew thought, but it was not Carrie whom he wanted. He was smart enough to realize she didn't want him, either. One thing Andrew prided himself on was his ability to keep his cool around pretty girls and their meaningless flirting. He knew that he'd learned this trick from Sara, who, throughout their friendship, had always flirted with him, touched him, put her head on his shoulder when they studied from the same book, and settled herself into his chest when they watched movies. He knew that the physical intimacy between him and Sara had made him seem pretty cool, thereby easing his passage through high school. She had emboldened his sense of self with her friendship, her affection, her love. Because of Sara, his identity had been transformed from Brian Genter's geeky little brother to that of a quiet, smart guy who was somehow on touchy-feely terms with one of the hottest girls in school.

Beside me, inside me,
An angel in my life, in my life.

What was up with these lyrics? But now he was trembling and thinking about Sara. Sara in the cafeteria, flopping down in between him and Marcia and instantly making them cool. Sara in his car, turning up the music and howling out the window. Sara in her bathroom, half naked, flirtatious, and making him feel attractive and . . . confident. His eyes welled up. The singing grew louder. He covered his face with his hands and tried to control himself. Matt put his arm around Andrew's shoulders, and at first Andrew felt a violent urge to shrug him off. But then Carrie released his hand and encircled his waist with her tiny arm. He leaned back into them both and quietly cried.

Excerpted from All the Major Constellations by Pratima Cranse. Copyright © 2015 by Pratima Cranse. Excerpted by permission of Viking. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The "Normal" Kid in the Family

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Fly Girls
by Keith O'Brien

How five daring women defied all odds and made aviation history.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.