Excerpt from Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly by Conrad Wesselhoeft, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly

by Conrad Wesselhoeft

Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly by Conrad Wesselhoeft X
Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly by Conrad Wesselhoeft
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2015, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Chapter 1

Kenya Man  explodes out of my phone:

L.A. . . . L.A. . . . L.A. Gonna get my junk in play

At the corner of Sunset and La Brea.


I jerk out of REM sleep, level nine. Scramble and find my phone wedged under El Guapo’s ass, punch in.

“Dude,” I rasp, “be right out.”

But instead of Cam or Lobo on the other end, it’s some space cowboy.

“Hello, is this Arlo Santiago?”

Everything about the voice sounds like a jail door clanging shut.

“Am I speaking with Arlo Spencer Santiago?” “Uhhhhhhhmm . . .”

El Guapo—“The Handsome One”—arches his back and starts to hump me, his way of saying good morning. I shove him, and he tumbles ass-over-floppy-ears onto the floor. Then he pops up and grins at me.

He’s always grinning. Humping and grinning. He’s the grin- ningest, humpingest dog in the world. Probably the only stan- dard poodle in all northeast New Mexico.

“Guess so,” I say.

“Good morning, Arlo. I’m Major Keith Anderson, United States Air Force. How are you today?”

I glance at the clock—6:55 a.m. Damn, just what I need, a recruiter calling me at this hour. Messing with my routine.

I’ve polished my mornings to perfection. On the one hand, I give myself Maximum Sleep (MS)—sleep to the very last mil- lisecond. On the other hand, once Kenya Man starts rapping, I’m up, moving fast. In five seconds, I’ve accelerated to Maximum Efficiency (ME). Not to say I’m totally awake; I’m not. But my body knows all the moves, how to cut the corners.

On a blackboard, you can write it this way:

MS + ME = success

. . . with success being getting to school before the 7:29 a.m. bell.

I have exactly two minutes and twenty-seven seconds to piss, slap water on my face, get dressed, and eat breakfast.

But first I’ve got to deal with this tool.

“It’s an honor to speak with a world champion,” the man says. I rub sleep off my face. “Hey, who is this again?”

“Nice job yesterday on Drone Pilot,” he says. “You finally beat him.”

“Beat who?” “SergeiTashkent, of course.’” Now he has my attention.

“What are you,” I ask, “the CIA or something?”

The jail door laughs. “No, Arlo. Merely the United States Air Force.”

“Listen, dude . . . Major . . . whoever you are . . .” I roll out of bed and whip a T-shirt off the floor. “I’m running late for school.”

“Sure, I’ll get to the point. We want you to fly with us.” “No thanks. I’m only seventeen. Call me in a year.”

El Guapo leaps onto the bed and thrusts his shaggy hips at me. Hump and grin, hump and grin—only God knows the mind of a high desert poodle.

“Arlo, we’ve been following you on the leaderboards for some time,” the man says. “Last night, we watched you knock Sergei out of the number one position on Drone Pilot. Sergei’s a superb UAV pilot, technically the best we’ve ever seen. And you beat him. That was extremely smart flying.”

I clamp my hand on El Guapo’s snout. He freezes mid-hump.

“Look,” I say, glancing around for my jeans. “I don’t want to join the air force.”

“Arlo, I’m not a recruiter.”

“Well, who are you, man?”

“I’d like to invite you to join us for war games this Saturday at White Sands.”

“War games?”

I glance at the clock—6:57 a.m. Damn!

“You’ll get to test your skills against real pilots—some of our very best.”

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpted from Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly by Conrad Wesselhoeft. Copyright © 2014 by Conrad Wesselhoeft. Excerpted by permission of Houghton Mifflin Books For Younger Readers. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Conrad Wesselhoeft

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.