Excerpt from The Hit by Melvin Burgess, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Hit

by Melvin Burgess

The Hit
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Feb 2014, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

CHAPTER 1
THE VERY PUBLIC DEATH OF
JIMMY EARLE

WITH JIMMY, IT WAS ALL ABOUT THE FANS. PEOPLE OFTEN say a performer gave everything, but no one ever promised more for a show than he had tonight.

Adam didn't believe it, but he still felt part of something special. Jimmy Earle had been the big thing for years, his shows were legend-ary, but nothing before had ever been like this. People had flown from California and Beijing to be here. This was going to be the concert to end all concerts, the one experience no one could ever repeat.

"Like human sacrifice," said Adam. "They should tear his heart out, like the Aztecs. Now that would be cool."

"You won't be making jokes if he really does it," Lizzie said.

Adam shook his head. It would never happen. Jimmy had every-thing — wealth, youth, good looks, talent. You could understand the losers and lowlifes in the projects taking the drug called Death. They had nothing and never would. Why not go for that one crazy week in the blazing light? But Jimmy Earle? No way.

"He wants to join the 27 Club," said Lizzie excitedly. "Brian Jones, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain, Amy Winehouse — and Jimmy Earle. All twenty-seven years old. That's what they're all so scared about it. Look at 'em!"

It was true, Adam thought as they filed into the arena. There were security guards everywhere, big men standing in the aisles. They all looked on edge. "He'll be remembered forever if he dies tonight," Lizzie said.

Adam grinned. "Yeah. And we'll remember this concert forever."

"Gosh, buying tickets — something else you're good at!" she teased. Lizzie never let him get away with a thing, but he couldn't help boasting. The glory that was Jimmy Earle was Adam's glory, too, tonight.

"Where were you the night Jimmy Earle died?" he said, acting it out. "I was there. I saw it." He grabbed her hand. She smiled back and squeezed. Adam felt his head go. He fancied her that bad.

Lizzie was out of his league, really. They used to know each other years ago at primary school. They'd been good friends — hung out, gone to the same parties. Then his dad had to leave his job, Adam had to change schools, and they'd lost touch until they bumped into each other again in town just a couple of months ago. It was like magic — they'd got on in a flash, as if they'd never been apart all those years.

He'd been delighted and amazed when she let him kiss her a week later. In a world where there were so many people and so few jobs, it was serious stuff for someone rich to go out with someone poor. Families hoarded their wealth like dragons. So look at him now! He felt like the King of the World with her at his side. He'd bet not one of her rich friends could have got her a ticket for Jimmy Earle like he had tonight.

Actually, it was his brother Jess who had got the tickets for him. God knows how — Jess never went anywhere or did anything. No need for Lizzie to know that, though . . .

They made their way toward their seats. The noise was already deafening. People were shouting at the stage, even though there was no one there to hear them.

"Jimmy, I love you!" "Don't do it, Jimmy!" "No, do it! Off yourself. Save me the price of your next crap album," yelled a bloke near them. He snickered at his mates, who laughed uncomfortably. A tearful girl yelled at him to shut up. A couple of rows down, a man offered to punch his lights out if he spoke up again.

The whole place was too hot, too edgy. Lizzie slipped her hand out of Adam's as they pushed through to their seats. She sat down and stared around her, trying to take it all in."Do you think anyone here's taken it?" she asked.

Excerpted from The Hit by Melvin Burgess. Copyright © 2014 by Melvin Burgess. Excerpted by permission of The Chicken House. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Subintentioned Death

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.