Excerpt from Detroit Shuffle by D.E. Johnson, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Detroit Shuffle

A Detroit Mystery

by D.E. Johnson

Detroit Shuffle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2013, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Oh, you were involved in that?" I asked.

"No, but I think they railroaded those aldermen. Tom Glinnan asked me to look into it for him."

Glinnan was the secretary of the council and, prior to being arrested for accepting a thousand-dollar bribe, had been a leading mayoral candidate. Now he was just hoping to stay out of jail.

"He's what?" I asked. "A friend?"

"Of sorts," Riordan said.

"You think the Burnsies cheated somehow?"

"Tom says they planted the thousand dollars in his pocket. I don't know that he's past looking the other way for a bribe, though. The whole thing just stunk."

"To get back to today," I said. "Do you know the cop? The one who left his post?"

He shook his head. "No. Brennan was probably right about him. He claimed he ate some bad oysters and had to run to the toilet. The odds are good he's lying."

"Listen, you need to protect these women. Someone is trying to kill them. Even if you don't believe me, you know what a divisive issue this is. And you have to admit there are a lot of crackpots out there."

"They've received threatening letters at the office. Someone threw a rock through the window last week."

"Any idea who?"

"No.

"What was the threat?"

Shaking his head, he said, "That's confidential information."

"You can't tell me? Why?"

"Because I can't trust you in your current condition. Who knows who wrote those letters?"

"As in … I might have?"

He nodded.

"What the hell are you talking about? Why would I threaten Elizabeth?"

"People who've gone through what you have get confused. Sometimes they try to reenact the situation that brought them success before. You've had to save Elizabeth. Maybe you're re-creating that situation."

My heart thumped faster. Blood rushed to my face. "So I threaten her, come backstage and shoot my gun, then claim I was fighting with a nonexistent attempted murderer."

He shrugged.

I spat out a laugh. "Is this your theory?"

With his wolf eyes still locked on mine, he slowly shook his head. "But I have to guard against all threats just the same."

Goddamn you! My eyes focused on his nose. The first disorienting punch to the nose, double him over with a shot to the solar plexus, kick him in the face, stomp him into the floor.

Watching me from the corner of his eye, Riordan said, "Now tell me about your gunman. What did the man look like?"

"If you think it's me, what's the sense?"

"I told you—I guard against all threats."

I should do it, I thought. Take this son of a bitch to the floor, take out my frustrations. It wasn't like he hadn't done it to me before. But … Elizabeth. I had to remember, this was all for Elizabeth. "I couldn't see his face. Frankly, I mostly remember the gun, but my impression was that he was smaller than you or Brennan—more my size. He had dark hair. Gray suit."

He pointed at my head and then my chest. I caught his point. I also had brown hair and wore a gray suit. "Oh, good one, Dr. Freud," I said. "It's my subconscious trying to get me caught."

After watching me another moment, Riordan said, "Anything else you remember?"

I shrugged.

"Not very helpful."

"I saw him at a distance and then I saw him in the dark." I stood. "Can I go now?"

Riordan put his hand on my shoulder. He seemed to tower over me in the little room. His six feet in height had me by four inches, but his ramrod-straight posture and ever-present gray fedora made him seem like an even taller man. "Listen, Will, I know you've been through a lot, but you've got to stay away from the campaign. You're not helping."

"You have to be kidding me! I kept that man from shooting—"

"Elizabeth needs to get through this election." He spoke over the top of me. "Let her do that. That's a remarkable young lady you have there. Saved my life."

Copyright © 2013 by D. E. Johnson

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.