Excerpt from Burial Rites by Hannah Kent, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Burial Rites

by Hannah Kent

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2014, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Suzanne Reeder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"I thought a hot meal might be of comfort," she said.

Jón looked up at Lauga, who was standing in front of him, holding the tray. "May I change out of these clothes first?"

Lauga hesitated, and, setting the tray down on the bed beside her mother, dropped to her knees and began to untie the binds about Jón's shoes. "There is something I have to tell you both."

"Where's Kristín?" Margrét asked sharply, as Jón leaned back on his elbows and let his daughter work the damp sock off his foot.

"Steina gave her half the day in holiday," Lauga replied.

"And where is Steina?"

"Oh, I don't know. Here somewhere." Lauga felt her stomach twist in panic, aware of the scrutiny of her parents. "Pabbi, District Commissioner Blöndal paid a visit when you were away," she whispered.

Jón sat up a little and looked down at his daughter. "The District Commissioner?" he repeated.

Margrét clenched her fists. "What did he want?" she asked.

"He had a letter for you, Pabbi."

Margrét stared down at Lauga. "Why didn't he send a servant? Are you sure it was Blöndal?"

"Mamma, please."

Jón was silent. "Where is the letter?" he asked.

Lauga wriggled the shoe off his other foot and let it drop to the floor. Mud cracked off the leather.

"Steina burnt it."

"Whatever for? Good Lord!"

"Mamma! It's all right. I know what it said. Pabbi, we are being forced to—"

"Pabbi!" Steina's voice rang down the corridor. "You'll never guess who we have to keep locked up in our house!"

"Locked up?" Margrét twisted around to query her elder daughter, who had just bounced into the room. "Oh, Steina, you're sopping."

Steina looked down at her soaked apron and shrugged. "I dropped the buckets and had to go back and fill them up again. Pabbi, Blöndal's forcing us to keep Agnes Magnúsdóttir in our home!"

"Agnes Magnúsdóttir?" Margrét turned to Lauga, horrified.

"Yes, the murderess, Mamma!" Steina exclaimed, untying her wet apron and carelessly flinging it onto the bed next to her. "The one who killed Natan Ketilsson!"

"Steina! I was just about to explain to Pabbi—"

"And Pétur Jónsson, Mamma."

"Steina!"

"Oh, Lauga, just because you wanted to tell them."

"You ought not to interrupt—"

"Girls!" Jón stood up, his arms outstretched. "Enough. Begin from the start, Lauga. What happened?"

Lauga hesitated, then told her parents everything she could remember about the District Commissioner's visit, her face growing flushed as she recited what she recalled reading in the letter.

Before she had finished, Jón began to dress again.

"Surely this is not something we are obliged to do!" Margrét tugged at her husband's sleeve, but Jón shrugged her off, refusing to look at his wife's distraught face.

"Jón," Margrét murmured. She glanced over at her daughters, who both sat with their hands in their laps, watching their parents silently.

Jón pulled his boots back on, whipping the ties around his ankle. The leather squeaked as he pulled them tight.

"It's too late, Jón," Margrét said. "Are you going to Hvammur? They'll all be asleep."

"Then I'll wake them." He picked up his riding hat from its nail, took his wife by the shoulders and gently shifted her out of his way. Nodding farewell to his daughters, he strode out of the room, down the corridor and shut the door to the croft behind him.

"What shall we do, Mamma?" Lauga's small voice came from a dark corner of the room.

Margrét closed her eyes and took a deep breath.

Excerpted from Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. Copyright © 2013 by Hannah Kent. Excerpted by permission of Little Brown & Company. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  A Short History of Iceland

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.