MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Excerpt from Zebra Forest by Adina Rishe Gewirtz, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Zebra Forest

by Adina Rishe Gewirtz

Zebra Forest by Adina Rishe Gewirtz X
Zebra Forest by Adina Rishe Gewirtz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2013, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2014, 208 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Ellis Smith
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Rew didn't want to hear about a grandpa with a hurt heart, though. And so one day that year I agreed that our grandpa had been a pirate and that Gran got her treasure from a treasure box he'd left, which was still buried out on the edge of the Zebra.

"Is that why she lets everyone call her Morgan?" he asked me, thinking it over. "Like Adele Parks and them?"When we had first registered for school, Gran had put us down under the name Morgan, which had been her name before she married Grandpa Snow, when she lived in Chicago. "My mother would have liked to be remembered that way" was all she said about it. And that was Gran. But at home, she never let us forget that we were Snows, and neither of us would have had it any other way. Snow had been our father's name, after all.

"That's right," I told Rew. "See, pirates never use their real names. You think Long John Silver's mother named him that? Course not. So Grandpa Snow's pirate name was Morgan, and he stamped that name right on his big treasure box, with the special seal pirates use. If Gran didn't use that name Morgan, that box wouldn't budge open. And so she keeps her pirate name, and that's how she gets at the treasure."

Rew grinned. "The old pirate Morgan. That's a great name. Where'd he sail? In the Atlantic?"

He sailed down to the islands," I told him. "To the Bermuda Triangle, where ships get lost at sea."

"And is that what happened to him? Did his ship get lost?"

I nodded. "Absolutely," I said. "It's a mystery right to this day. His ship was swallowed up, and no one ever saw it again."

Excerpted from Zebra Forest by Adina Rishe Gewirtz. Copyright © 2013 by Adina Rishe Gewirtz. Excerpted by permission of Candlewick Press. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.