Excerpt from The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Interestings

by Meg Wolitzer

The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2013, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 544 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elizabeth Whitmore Funk

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Oh, forget it," Ethan said in a hoarse voice, and then she saw his expression simply change, as if he'd made a decision to switch over into the self- protective mode of irony. "You have nothing to feel sorry about. I think I'll find a way to live. A way not to commit suicide because you didn't want to make out with me, Jules." She didn't say anything, but just looked downward at her feet in their yellow clogs on the dusty shed floor. For a second she thought he was going to turn away furiously and leave her here, and she would have to head back through the trees alone. Jules saw herself stumbling over exposed tree roots, and eventually Gudrun Sigurdsdottir's sturdy flashlight would be used to find her in the woods, where she would be sitting against a tree, shaking. But then Ethan said, "I don't want to be a dick about this. I mean, people have been rejected by other people since the dawn of time."

"I've never rejected anyone before in my life," Jules said fiercely. "Although," she added, "I've never accepted anyone before either. What I mean is, it's never come up."

"Oh," he said. He stayed by her side as they trudged back up the hill together. When they reached the top, Ethan turned to her, and she expected to be met with something sarcastic, but instead he said, "Maybe the reason you don't want to do this with me isn't even because of me."

"What do you mean?"

"You say you haven't rejected or accepted anyone before," he said. "You are one hundred percent inexperienced. So maybe you're just nervous. Your nervousness could be masking your real feelings."

"You think so?" she asked, doubtful.

"Could be. It happens to girls sometimes," he added, overstating his worldliness. "So I have a proposition for you." Jules waited. "Reconsider," Ethan said. "Spend more time with me and let's see what happens."

It was such a reasonable request. She could spend more time with Ethan Figman, experimenting with the idea of being part of a couple. Ethan was special, and she did like being singled out by him. He was a genius, and that counted for a great deal with her, she understood. "All right," she finally told him.

"Thank you," said Ethan. "To be continued," he added cheerfully. Only when he'd dropped her off at her own teepee did he leave her. Jules went inside and stood getting ready for bed, pulling off her T-shirt and unhooking her bra. Across the teepee Ash Wolf was already in bed, encased in her sleeping bag that was red flannel lined, with a repeating pattern of cowboys swinging lariats. Jules intuited that at one point it had probably belonged to her brother.

"So where were you?" Ash asked.

"Oh, Ethan Figman wanted to show me one of his films. And then we started talking, and it just got—it's hard to explain."

Ash said, "That sounds mysterious."

"No, it was nothing," said Jules. "I mean, it was something, but it was strange."

"I know what they're like," Ash said.

"What what are like?"

"Those moments of strangeness. Life is full of them," Ash said.

"What do you mean?"

"Well," said Ash, and she got out of her own bed and came to sit beside Jules. "I've always sort of felt that you prepare yourself over the course of your whole life for the big moments, you know? But when they happen, you sometimes feel totally unready for them, or even that they're not what you thought. And that's what makes them strange. The reality is really different from the fantasy."

"That's true," Jules said. "That's just what happened to me." She looked with surprise at the pretty girl sitting on her bed; it seemed that this girl understood her, even though Jules had told her nothing. The whole evening was taking on various exquisite meanings.

Excerpted from The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer. Copyright © 2013 by Meg Wolitzer. Excerpted by permission of Riverhead Books. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  New York City in the 1970s

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.