Excerpt from Shannon by Campbell McGrath, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Shannon

A Poem of the Lewis and Clark Expedition

by Campbell McGrath

Shannon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2009, 128 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2009, 128 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Chapter One

Shannon

It is a fine & open country in every aspect hereabouts.
The very prairie, grasslands, thickets
Or brakes along the several streams with elk
& deer largely therein.
Of those legendary buffalo first sighted
& shot by J. Fields this week, alas
None discovered by me as yet this day or last
Whilst tracking runaway horses.
Those two did flee as if unwilling ever to be caught
But I came upon them at evening yesterday
Drinking water in a sandy draw
Well-trampled by hoof-marks dark as bruises
Sure evidence of buffalo in great plenty.
In the event the fugitives appeared
Not unhappy at sight of me.
Found their hobble ropes trailing
Which I did retie forcefully
Pleased as I am by this outcome.
It was my hope to recover these horses
& so demonstrate my worth
In such regard to the Capts. generally—
I do not misdoubt them, only certain statements
Overheard among the company concerning
My youth & stature as a hunter, which I deem false.
Last time I did kill an elk buck yet R. Fields
Brought in five deer to top it. So it was
I importuned the Capts. to set me this errand
Those Fields Brothers having done so
Previously, nor did I aim to disappoint them.
Why should youth count against a man
In this Missouri country?
Eighteen & years in the backwoods
I am a better hunter than most back home
& this a newer land
Nor Capt. Lewis nor Clark
Hoary greybeards
Yet Pres. Jefferson saw fit to appoint them
Command of this Expedition. Well
It is done
& the horses recovered at any rate
By myself alone.

Pres. Jefferson is a man much admired
By Capt. Lewis, who frequently
Recounts his love of the same hills Capt. Lewis knew
As a boy in Virginia, rambling long days
Outdoors, the joy of which I share in kind.
Says they much resemble the country
Along the Ohio River, yet
These lands along the Missouri
That much starker, bolder, gouged
& abandoned to grass & sky.
As God much imbues this world with his Self
I guess now the Capts. are
In these parts, & us, & Pres. Jefferson.
Like to which the moonlight
Enumerating each stalk with blue shadows.
These wild, wind-torn lands flung to the horizon
Will soon enough be states
Of the Union
Why else fashion a Corps of Discovery?
If such they become
I would hope to name one
New Ohio.

Coming on evening I make shift to camp
Shy of the river one final night
& will welcome sight of it & my companions
On the morrow. These horses will not stray.
I have tied them to a cottonwood tree
Not trusting the hobbles. What I took to be stones
In the gloaming were skulls of buffalo.

  • 1

The foregoing is excerpted from Shannon by Campbell McGrath. All rights reserved. No part of this book may be used or reproduced without written permission from HarperCollins Publishers, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.