Excerpt from Village of the Ghost Bears by Stan Jones, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Village of the Ghost Bears

A Nathan Active Mystery

by Stan Jones

Village of the Ghost Bears by Stan Jones X
Village of the Ghost Bears by Stan Jones
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2009, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2011, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Cindy Anderson

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


He handed her the glasses and she scanned the slope. “I don’t—oh, yeah, I see it. What—”

“Water bottle, maybe.”

“Umm-hmm.” She handed the glasses back to him.

“You wait here,” he said. “I’ll go up and have a look.”

“Careful. You don’t want to end up like him.”

He grunted, handed her his rifle, and started up the slope. The going was rough enough on the talus fan, and it became impossible when he reached the cliff itself. He glassed the object again, now much closer, determined that it really was a water bottle—actually, a plastic Coke bottle—and started back down.

He was halfway to the lake when he spotted the twoseventy Winchester, wedged muzzle-down in a crevice between two rocks. He pulled it out and studied it. The scope was gone, the barrel was bent slightly, and deep gouges scarred the weathered wooden stock. The sling, if the rifle had ever had one, was also gone.

He picked his way back to where Grace was waiting and showed her the gun. “He must have been crossing the slope on those caribou trails and lost his footing,” Active said. “Looks like he bounced all the way into the water. That would explain the broken neck.”

Grace gazed at the slope, then down the lake to where the brush concealed the hunter’s body. “Poor guy. Can you trace the gun and figure out who he is?”

“Not likely. There’s a million of these Winchesters around, and most of them were bought before there was any kind of gun registration. We’ll put the word out to the villages and wait for somebody to realize they haven’t heard from this guy in a while.”

“What now?” she asked as they started back to camp. He sighed. “We set off the EPIRB and wait for somebody to show up to see what the problem is.”

She shivered. “We have to stay on this lake with him?” “ ’Fraid so,” he said.

A dead man for a neighbor, they discovered, didn’t affect their appetites. So, after Active found the EPIRB in one of their bags and set it off, they reheated breakfast and began wolfing it down on the lakeshore.

“How long does that thing take to work?” Grace waved at the bright yellow EPIRB hanging from a spruce tree. It looked like a walkie-talkie.

“I’m not sure,” he said. “Never had to set one off before. A satellite picks up the signal, then it tells the Rescue Coordination Center, then they have to decide if the signal is for real and where you are . . . several hours, probably. A day, maybe.”

“I thought it could tell the satellite exactly where you are.”

“Some do,” he said. “The newer ones.”

“But they cost more.”

He nodded.

“So you kept that one. And here we sit.”

“Ah-hah.”

“So cheap.” She shook her head and took a swallow of coffee.

“We probably should wrap him up,” Active said.

“You should,” Grace said. “While I clean up here. And we should stop calling him ‘him.’ He needs a name.”

“A name?”

“It’s disrespectful if he doesn’t have one. Also, it might jinx him in the afterlife.”

“I didn’t know we Inupiat believed in the afterlife.”

“When it suits us.”

“All right,” he said. “A name. How about Henry?”

She grimaced and stirred her coffee with a spruce twig.

“How about One-Way? In honor of the place of his demise.”

“No-Way.”

“Why not? What’s wrong with One-Way?”

“No, I mean how about ‘No-Way’ for the name?”

Excerpted from Village of the Ghost Bears by Stan Jones. Copyright © 2009 by Stan Jones. Excerpted by permission of Soho Press. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.