Excerpt from Everything Asian by Sung J. Woo, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Everything Asian

A Novel

by Sung J. Woo

Everything Asian by Sung J. Woo X
Everything Asian by Sung J. Woo
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2010, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beth Hemke Shapiro

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


“David,” I said.

“David, you’ve been most kind.”

“Thank you, David,” the green-eyed girl said.

Feeling somewhat triumphant at surviving my first customer assistance, I turned back to where Father had been, but he wasn’t there; he was at the register, ringing up some other sale, Mother wrapping and bagging next to him.  In his place stood Noona, who watched me with a rueful smile.

My sister had unusually large eyes for a Korean, and her face was almost perfectly round.  Or at least it used to be.  She seemed not just thinner but older, and prettier, too, her cheekbones pronounced, her arms somehow longer and more graceful.  Never again would she look the way she did in Korea.  I don’t know how I knew that, but I did.

“Good work,” she said.

“No sweat,” I said.

We sat inside the fortress of showcases in the middle of the store, she on the aluminum stool and me on the wooden one.

“Do you like it here?” she asked, and I didn’t know if she meant this store or this country or this planet.  I was going to ask for clarification, then I stopped myself when I realized my answer would have been the same.

“Could be worse,” I said.

She nodded slowly.

“It can always be worse,” she said.

Excerpted from Everything Asian by Sung J. Woo. Copyright © 2006 by Sung J. Woo. Excerpted by permission of Thomas Dunne Books, a division of Macmillan. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.