Excerpt from Matrimony by Joshua Henkin, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Matrimony

A Novel

by Joshua Henkin

Matrimony by Joshua Henkin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2007, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2008, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Excerpt

Julian saw her again, this time in the laundry room. He hoped she didn't notice that next to him, clearly in his possession, was a package of fabric softener. He had a book of stories by Ernest Hemingway, and he placed the book on top of the fabric softener, to balance the picture out.

Mia from Montreal sorted her clothes at her feet. There was a colors pile and a whites pile, and Julian thrust his face into his book so she wouldn't think he was staring at her laundry. Periodically, though, he glanced at Mia herself, who was even more beautiful than he remembered. She was wearing blue jeans and a gray V-neck T-shirt, and her hair was up in a bun.


Julian saw her again, this time in the laundry room. He hoped she didn't notice that next to him, clearly in his possession, was a package of fabric softener. He had a book of stories by Ernest Hemingway, and he placed the book on top of the fabric softener, to balance the picture out.

Mia from Montreal sorted her clothes at her feet. There was a colors pile and a whites pile, and Julian thrust his face into his book so she wouldn't think he was staring at her laundry.

Periodically, though, he glanced at Mia herself, who was even more beautiful than he remembered. She was wearing blue jeans and a gray V-neck T-shirt, and her hair was up in a bun.

"I think you know my friend Carter," he said.

Mia nodded. "Carter's great."

"The very best," Julian said. Then, wanting to make sure Mia didn't take this literally--he, Julian, after all, was the very best--he mentioned Carter's girlfriend, Pilar.

A black bra strap stuck out from under Mia's T-shirt, and she fingered it idly, then brushed a wisp of hair from in front of her face.

"I saw you at this party," Julian said. "You were dancing the rumba."

Mia laughed. "I used to dance in high school."

"The rumba?"

"Sure."

"Are you Cuban?" "Jewish."

"You can't be both?"

"I guess you can." Mia peered through the window at her rotating clothes, giving the washer a baleful look as if her laundry disappointed her. "I was even religious briefly."

"Really?"

"An Orthodox Jew, if you can imagine that." Mia grabbed hold of a T-shirt and held it up to him, showing him the nametape sewn into the collar. "There I am," she said. "Mia Mendelsohn."

"Are you related to Felix Mendelssohn?" Julian asked.

Mia laughed. "I can't even keep a tune. In Hebrew school, I had to sing in the Passover pageant and the teacher told me just to mouth the words."

"The Passover pageant?"

"It's like the Christmas pageant, but with the Ten Plagues. I was a locust."

"A singing locust," Julian said.

"A lip-synching locust," said Mia. She had forgotten almost all her Hebrew, she told Julian. When she was small, her mother used to clean out her ears with a washcloth and tell her what she found inside. French toast. Marmalade. Cauliflower. Roast beef. That was where her Hebrew was, beneath the archaeological layers of her. "In Hebrew my name means 'Who is God'? So I guess that makes me a born agnostic."

"You know what my name means in Welsh?"

"What?"

"'He travels heavily amongst the goats.'"

"It does not!"

"I come from a family of Welsh goat herders."

"You do?"

"If you go back far enough." Julian's great-grandfather had been born in Wales, but Julian himself had never been to Wales and his experience with goats was limited to a visit to the Bronx Children's Zoo, where he'd grabbed the billygoat's leg and refused to release it. "My parents were born here. So were my grandparents. My father's just a regular American money launderer."

Excerpted from Matrimony by Joshua Henkin. Copyright © 2007 by Joshua Henkin.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.