Excerpt from Death of a Dreamer by M.C. Beaton, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Death of a Dreamer

by M.C. Beaton

Death of a Dreamer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"I can't get on with this book, Hamish," she complained. "When the first one was published, I thought I was all set. But the words won't come."

"Maybe you're trying too hard."

"Maybe. Let's have coffee."

Angela's first novel had been published the previous autumn. Reviews were good, but sales were modest.

"The trouble is I am damned as a 'literary writer,'" said Angela, "which usually means praise and no money."

"Perhaps something in the village will spark your imagination," said Hamish, covertly shooing two of her cats off the table where they were trying to drink the milk out of the jug.

"Like what?"

"Like this artist fellow. Seems to be a big hit with the ladies."

"Oh, he jokes and teases them. But I can't see anyone falling for him."

"Why?"

"In a funny kind of way, there's nothing about him that gives any of them the come-on. He's just a thoroughly nice man."

"Painting any good?"

"He's just started, but I looked his name up on the Internet. He's considered to be a very good landscape painter. He paints pictures in the old-fashioned way, and people are going for that. I think they're moving away from elephant dung and unmade beds or whatever the modern artist has been exhibiting at the Tate. I don't think he's going to cause any dramas. Where are your animals?"

"I left them playing in the garden."

"Don't you find it odd that a dog and a wild cat should get on so well?"

"Not really. A relief, if you ask me. If Lugs hadn't taken to the cat, I'd need to have got rid of it."

"Be careful, Hamish. It is a wild cat, and they can be savage."

"Maybe it just got caught in a trap."

"Here's your coffee. Is Effie Garrard still around?"

"Yes. I visited her the other day and asked around about her. Patel is selling her stuff, and so is the gift shop up at the Tommel Castle Hotel. She does charge awfully high prices."

"Are you going to the ceilidh on Saturday?"

"I might drop in."

"You'll need a ticket. Five pounds."

"Five pounds! What on earth for?"

"The church hall needs repainting."

"I thought some of the locals would have done that for free."

"Oh, they are. But it's to raise money for repairs to the roof, paint, and new curtains."

"And what would I be getting for five pounds?"

"A buffet supper. The Italian restaurant is doing the catering."

"That's decent of them. I'll go."

"You must be getting very bored," said Angela, putting a mug of coffee in front of him. "No crime."

Copyright © 2006 by Marion Chesney

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.