Excerpt from Death of a Dreamer by M.C. Beaton, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Death of a Dreamer

by M.C. Beaton

Death of a Dreamer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"I can't get on with this book, Hamish," she complained. "When the first one was published, I thought I was all set. But the words won't come."

"Maybe you're trying too hard."

"Maybe. Let's have coffee."

Angela's first novel had been published the previous autumn. Reviews were good, but sales were modest.

"The trouble is I am damned as a 'literary writer,'" said Angela, "which usually means praise and no money."

"Perhaps something in the village will spark your imagination," said Hamish, covertly shooing two of her cats off the table where they were trying to drink the milk out of the jug.

"Like what?"

"Like this artist fellow. Seems to be a big hit with the ladies."

"Oh, he jokes and teases them. But I can't see anyone falling for him."

"Why?"

"In a funny kind of way, there's nothing about him that gives any of them the come-on. He's just a thoroughly nice man."

"Painting any good?"

"He's just started, but I looked his name up on the Internet. He's considered to be a very good landscape painter. He paints pictures in the old-fashioned way, and people are going for that. I think they're moving away from elephant dung and unmade beds or whatever the modern artist has been exhibiting at the Tate. I don't think he's going to cause any dramas. Where are your animals?"

"I left them playing in the garden."

"Don't you find it odd that a dog and a wild cat should get on so well?"

"Not really. A relief, if you ask me. If Lugs hadn't taken to the cat, I'd need to have got rid of it."

"Be careful, Hamish. It is a wild cat, and they can be savage."

"Maybe it just got caught in a trap."

"Here's your coffee. Is Effie Garrard still around?"

"Yes. I visited her the other day and asked around about her. Patel is selling her stuff, and so is the gift shop up at the Tommel Castle Hotel. She does charge awfully high prices."

"Are you going to the ceilidh on Saturday?"

"I might drop in."

"You'll need a ticket. Five pounds."

"Five pounds! What on earth for?"

"The church hall needs repainting."

"I thought some of the locals would have done that for free."

"Oh, they are. But it's to raise money for repairs to the roof, paint, and new curtains."

"And what would I be getting for five pounds?"

"A buffet supper. The Italian restaurant is doing the catering."

"That's decent of them. I'll go."

"You must be getting very bored," said Angela, putting a mug of coffee in front of him. "No crime."

Copyright © 2006 by Marion Chesney

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.